GG's Bulgur Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This hearty salad delights the taste buds with its' satisfying array of textures & flavors! Crunchy, chewy, savory, sweet; fresh & dried; raw and cooked; robust yet light... This salad literally has it all! I made this three times in ten days for gatherings of 20+ people, easily adjusting the ingredient amounts with the servings calculator. Everyone commented on how good it was and sought me out for the recipe, intrigued by the ingredients. I added an ear of fresh, raw corn cut off the cob, and used Greek yoghurt in the dressing. Even two days after adding the dressing, the salad still tasted fabulous and fresh! I don't think you could hurt this recipe by utilizing any number of ingredients you may have on hand. I put in only half the amount of almonds because it seemed like too much. I rarely use muenster cheese and was impressed by its mild and creamy contribution to the medley. Can't wait to bring it to another function!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paradise, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Very flavorful and easy to make. Good weeknight meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
The dressing for this bulgur salad is awesome! Since I didn't have dates, romaine, or green onions, I improvised and used a couple stalks of celery diced and a few cups of fresh spinach chopped. I also added about a 1/4 cup of blackberries chopped. Turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I have been making this salad for about 2 years now and EVERYBODY loves it. I omit the romaine and add 2 huge buches of both cilantro and parsley. I also add red peppers and some carrot. It keeps well in the fridge all week, Make This Salad, you will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This salad is GREAT! I did leave out the cheese (just not a fan of cheese) and lettuce it get soggy do not leave out the dates they are magic in this salad. I t is really good for a fast make a head breakfast! Yum I made this for a large group and had a little bit left over for breakfast:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I think it is a great salad. Very little and flavourful. Thanks GG for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Really light and yummy. I've been looking for ways to get more whole grains into my family members and this did the trick. My dad called it "vulgar wheat" before he tried it but was singing a different tune by the end of it. Super easy to make. The dressing was a little sweet but paired really well with a more savory entre. Next time I will cut down the sweet a little bit. Thanks a lot for this new summer favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabethanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I think the basic recipe is very good. I didn't have the exact ingredients and I substituted for the cheese and lettuce. The dressing was very sweet, in our opinion, so that's something for me to fiddle with. Conceptually, though, this recipe is going in the Keeper file. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was an unusual taste combination salad. The dressing didnt want to incorporate very well with the bulgur. It made alot, but leftovers are not great as the lettuce is wilted. So its good for a pot-luck or big gathering. I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is definitely a keeper!!! The array of flavors are magnificent. The only thing that I had to omit was Cilantro, but not by my choice. I love it, my husband does not. But it really didn't matter because it was still great. Even my children liked it. This recipe will make it into the schedule probably every other week. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States