GA Peach Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I hate to give bad ratings, but this one deserves it. I followed the recipe exactly, and it was not a good cake. I read the reviews beforehand and thought this cake would be out of this world. It was so bland, and didnt taste like peach at all. The pound cake wasnt great, just a basic pound cake. The peaches inside are cool i guess but it didnt make the cake taste like peach. I saw a few bad reviews and said they must not know what they are talking about, but they are actually the ones i agree with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I used self raising flour instead of all-purpose flour and baking powder and added a 1/4 cup of grated coconut. Probably the main reason I attempted to make this cake was to use up ingredients that were in the cupboard. This cake turned out beautifully and moist. Gave it to my partner to take to work for lunch and have had requests from his colleagues that they want the recipe to give to their wives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
It was good but lacked flavor. Could use a punch of flavor. Regardless it was gone in a few hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Sorry i thought this tasted awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Delicious! I found myself over-flowing with frozen sliced peaches. In a search for recipes containing peaches, I found this recipe. Very simple and I had everything on hand. I halved the recipe. I defrosted the peaches in the microwave and put them in my food processor to chop them up before coating them in the flour. I also used butter-flavored cooking spray instead of real butter in my pan (with the sugar). Other than those very minor changes. I made the recipe as-is. My family and I were all quite pleased with the results! We will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Wonderful texture and taste. My daughter and I really like this. My only complaint is that mine turned out a little dry, but I think that was my fault and not the recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was amazing everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
After reading reviews I decided to lower the temperature to 325 degrees. I baked this in a Bundt Pan at 325 degrees for 1 hour and 10 minutes. The cake rose up nicely while baking. My house smelled like peaches but it was well worth the wait because in the end I had a beautiful light colored peach pound cake. It was incredibly moist, delicious, and bursting with bits of peaches in every bite. I loved the specks of chopped peaches throughout the cake making it so pretty(see ny picture in the photo gallery). The outer crust has a sugary sweet crispy crunch, adds a really nice touch and I'm glad I included that. I drizzled a glaze over the cake with a mixture of the drained peach juice and powdered sugar. I also thought about topping it with fresh sliced peaches and homemade whipped cream with creamy rich vanilla ice cream. Since this cake is going with hubs to work to share with everyone I just used a little glaze. This lovely cake turned out pretty, moist, absolutely delicious...and PEACH-Y! A definite 5 stars plus and worth making again, and, with fresh slices of peaches, homemade whipped cream with a side of vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by KJ
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I didn't have any fresh peaches, so I used canned and it turned out wonderful. I loved the sweet crunchiness that the sugar coated pan brought to the cake. The flavor is even better the second day. I'll definitley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Very tasty cake, didn't really change anything except halved the recipe and baked in a loaf pan and added a splash of OJ (its what I had on hand) as I found the batter very thick and was worried how it would turn out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mich_Mich

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States