GA Peach Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Half of this recipe was just perfect in an 8x4" loaf pan. I lowered the heat to 325 degrees after some reviewers indicated they had trouble getting the cake to bake through without overbaking the exterior. It was perfect, then, at 325 for about 60 minutes. I made this exactly as written, in spite of reviewer suggestions to add this or that. I didn't want to take away from the buttery, peachy taste--it was delicious. The sugar crust is a nice touch and I'm glad I included that too. I used frozen peaches, thawed and drained, and drizzled the baked loaf with a glaze of powdered sugar and the drained peach juice. Very pretty, moist cake, with a just right taste and speckle of peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Good recipe! I added a carmel glaze that made it even more delicious: 1/2 c. butter - 1/2 c. packed brown sugar - 2 tsp. milk - Heat all ingred. in saucepan, stir occasionally. Boil 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Spoon over warm cake. I will use this recipe for a pineapple pound cake next, using drained canned pineapple. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Oh my, I may be a Northern girl but I felt like I was back in the Old South sitting on someone's porch having a slice of this pound cake with a tall glass of Sweet Tea! Yes, it's that good! I cut the recipe in half, kept the amount of vanilla the same and used a little over a cup of peaches. I baked it in an 8x4 glass baking dish and topped it with a generous amount of turbinado sugar. I put in the oven at 325 for exactly one hour. It was so incredibly moist, delicious, and bursting with peaches. I topped the cake slices with fresh cut peaches and homemade whipped cream. The cake basically disappeared, but this is definitely a recipe I'd love to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
A perfect way to use ripe peaches! The sugar coating on the pan gave a nice crunch to the outside of the cake. I used a bundt pan and baked it about 1 hr 20 min, and had no trouble getting the cake out of the pan after letting it cool for about 15 minutes. As with any pound cake, it is important to follow the directions and beat, beat, beat the batter after each addition (except the peaches, of course). Using a stand mixer works well for the beating. I added some nutmeg and cinnamon to the batter with the vanilla, and I think that helped bring out the flavor of the peaches. I also dusted it with 10X sugar after it cooled. The cake is delicious, especially when served with dark chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This was a really good recipe. I did alter it a bit. I added 1.4 tsp. of almond extract and then 1/4 tsp. each of cinnamon, nutmeg and 1/8 tsp. ginger and ground cloves. After the cake had cooled a bit, I poked holes in it with a toothpick and made a glaze of the syrup from a can of peaches and powdered sugar and then dusted it with powdered sugar just before serving. This was a very nice change. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
Great recipe. I didn't have fresh peaches but I did have canned, so I chopped them up real fine and it came out great. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Perfect cake for Spring or Summer. I live in GA, so I used fresh, ripe, sweet GA peaches. Took this cake to a mother's meeting and it was gobbled up. HELPFUL HINT: To ripen the peaches more quickly, put them in a brown paper bag. Close the top of the bag and poke holes in it. Also, you can put an apple in there to speed the process, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
Great pound cake! Very easy to make. I greased and floured the pan instead of using butter and sugar to coat. Came out just fine! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This cake is excellent!! I love buttery homemade pound cake. This cake has a lot of flavor. The peaches added to the taste of the cake. Fresh peaches are out of season where I live so I had to use can peaches. This did not make a difference in how good the cake turned out. I brought it to work and it went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
It tastes excellent! I had to bake for 80 minutes, but it's rainy and humid here today. Also, before I poured in the cake batter, I lined the prepared pan with 3/4 cup of toasted pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States