G-ma's Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Made this to go along with Tacos. I did halve the recipe to 4 servings. It turned out great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Shults Toole
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I loved this rice and so did my family. My husband is hispanic and he said it was awsome. Thank you so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This recipe is tastes exactly like my mom (from Mexico) and my Abuelita's rice. Well, I guess I don't remember my mom ever putting minced garlic in, she used garlic powder. It is a family favorite. I was looking for a good Mexican rice recipe on here one night when I couldn't get a hold of my mom for hers. I used hot water and sauteed the onions with the rice, other than that I followed recipe exactly. Tastes like home to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by triciav1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I didn't really care for this... It had an odd flavor that I didn't associate with Mexican rice. Try the Spanish Rice II recipe on this site instead, which is what I'm used to when making tomato-y rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I followed the directions on this and found that it makes a TON of rice - way more than I expected. That was ok since I was trying the recipe out before serving it for a party, but in the end the family didn't like it enough to serve it again so I'll have to find something else. We did find it to be bland, but I'm not sure if that's the recipe or if that's just how it is supposed to taste. I would expect it to have more flavor even as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Love this! I usually use chicken broth instead of water for extra flavor. I have made this rice multiple times and each time my family compliments me on it. I think it has more flavor than most rices from Mexican restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
We have tried several rice recipes.....this is our favorite. Came out fluffy, not mushy like others. Did use HOT water too, maybe that's why? You do need to add salt, was a little bland, but was nice to alter to our taste...added a spicy salt mix. We will definately use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Easy and tastes fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Concert Trash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
yeah! that's the mexican style... my mom add a chicken bouillon in the HOT water, and less than a can of tomato sauce.... first sautee the garlic and a little bit of onion with the rice and then the rest of the ing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zobird
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I made this with brown rice instead of white, otherwise as written. I fought the urge to add some butter (I'm a Southern girl!), but wish I had given in! Definitely needs additional salt and maybe some onion. I would make it again with those additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobird

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States