G-ma's Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Best spanish rice I've ever made and so easy! I browned my rice in a pan on the stove and added the salt, pepper, garlic & cumin. I finished it off in my rice cooker. Came out dry and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Very bland, will not make again. Perhaps as a filler for burritos or enchilada's but as a side it lacked flavor. It makes an aweful lot of rice too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I have been looking for a recipe that could duplicate the rice I get at my favorite authentic mexican restaurant (over 2 hours away). This comes VERY close. They add diced carrots to theirs...had I done that I would not have been able to tell the difference. I used medium grain rice and toasted it until golden. I worried about the amount of water when I added it but it definitely needs it so don't skimp. Excellent recipe...thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensett, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Living in Phoenix, we have had a chance to try MANY mexican / spanish rice dishes! However, we feel this recipe really captures the "true" taste of how it's done! I used real minced garlic, slightly less pepper, and the exact amount of ground cumin. Be careful to not place more cumin than recipe calls for as it would be too strong a flavor & overtake the rice. You can add salt to taste per individual taste after it's cooked. We have declared this as our favorite family rice side dish! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Wolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
started with a Mexican brand rice. the only tomato sauce i had was low sodium, so increased the salt to 1/2 t. had just under 3 C "no chicken broth", so added water to make up the difference. threw in half an onion because of personal taste, and a jalapeno for color and heat. after twenty minutes it had cooked perfectly, but filled up my largest skillet, so next time i will use a stockpot. it was fluffy and exactly the taste i was hoping for :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
For AUTHENTIC Mexican/Spanish Rice this is good. I will agree with a poster from below. Authentic Mexican food is very bland. I grew up in the midwest where everything is very spiced up. I moved to Arizona and went to many Authentic Mexican restaraunts and nothing tasted "right", only because my right was wrong. If you know what I mean. So I tend to stay away from authentic except for the carnitas. If you are used to Chi Chis, taco bell and O'd mexico type establishments this isn't going to be the type of rice you are looking for. Sorry But this is exactly how my sister in law makes her rice and I have been looking for it. Very simple. Great with chicken. I add a can of mixed vegis drained,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ladysmith, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
While this recipe is pretty simple to make, the taste is actually quite bland. It would have benefited from a bit more garlic or possibly some onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davis Freeberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Good recipe but I definitely like to make mine spicier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This is really good and easy to make. Tastes just the rice you get in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Turned out very good. Added corn and peas and some carrot to the rice. Very tasty and close to mexican restaurants. Subtle but good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States