G-ma's Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Pretty good! I didn't have any tomato sauce, so I used petite diced tomatoes, undrained and it worked out well. We ate this with enchiladas for dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Good basic recipe--it tastes as if it should be one of those things you can make without a recipe, but since I'd never made it before finding the recipe and hadn't even thought ot adding the ingredients together for a dish--it obviously needs the recipe. So, here's my review--good side dish but not shocking or unique in taste--don't think this will be the star of your meal. BUT it will be a delicious side dish that enhances an amazing main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
It's good but something's missing :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This tastes exactly like the rice you can get at THE fast food chain. Perfect copycat. I found it to be dry and I have to agree with the others who said it's bland. It definitely needs more salt. Not sure I'd use this particular recipe again. If I did, major tweaking would be necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
super great traditional mexican rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I started to make this, only to realize that I didn't have any tomato sauce. But I did have some salsa, so I used that instead. Rice turned out wonderful, with great flavor, and was a perfect side dish to our chicken enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This just did not work for us. This was definately bland and tasteless. No one would eat it. Sorry for the bad review, but I will not be making this again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Wonderful, simple rice, definitely best served as a jazzed-up side dish to accompany black beans, or quesadillas etc... I agree w/ other reviewers that it's a bit on the mild (no, no not bland!) side, but it is what it is -- a nicely-seasoned simple rice, that's more interesting that just plain ol' white rice. I made it as written, except that I toasted the rice dry, added the ingredients up to water, then added boiling water, so that upon being turned to low and covered, it was perfectly done to the right taste and texture in 20 min. Served it alongside chipotle chicken breasts with a sprinkle of green onions for color, and melty cheese. I would gladly make it again as a side to another Mexican entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by sdgilber
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Loved the texture of this rice. Agree with some previous posts that it was a little bland, but definitely will make it again! Was great as a side dish and also in tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I was surprised by how bland this was. We couldn't taste the spices or tomato sauce. The rice was clumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States