G. T. Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I was very disappointed in this cake. The layer on top was hard. I had planned on taking it to a carry in, but had to scrap it and whip up something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
A harsh disappointment. I was excited to taste this "truffle like, rich, great cake" and after spending over $15 for the ingredients (I used some good quality chocolate) I must say I was disheartened. The middle took a lot longer to set and the the whole cake hardened on the outside layer and I ended up taking it off and discarding it. It did not taste very rich at all and I did NOT like it with a graham cracker crust. I would suggest using a shortbread crust. It is dense, though so grab your glass of milk...you're going to need it! But that's a good thing. I will keep searching for something richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
This is so delicious! That's probably why it's in the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, but under another name. . . all the same, worth having once a year (that's about how often a heart can take it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
This recipe is delicious, but very dense, rich, moist and chocolately. It has a truffle-like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEN-SU

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
I love this recipe but I am having a problem with it. At 45 minutes, 325 degrees, the inside is still very moist and a very hard layer forms on top that I have to peel off and throw away. I have to let it cook over an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This was GREAT! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out absolutely YUMMY! The cake did form a "crust" on top as it baked...but it didn't affect the cake at all. The cake was like a cross between a truffle and a brownie. yum yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
was a hit with my family for Christmas, but a bit bitter for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2000
One of the most incredible chocolate experiences...even better with a raspberry sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2000
Absolutely delicious...rich, chocolately...anyone who loves chocolate will adore this masterpiece!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States