Fuzzy Navel Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I didn't follow the recipe exactly. The sugar didn't dissolve when I let the peaches marinate overnite, so I poured it into a saucepan and boiled it down to a thicker syrup. Then I drained the peaches. I only ended up tossing about 1/4 cup of the syrup. The cake was a hit. It wasn't too wet, just a good moist cake with a nice brown crust. The concensus was there was plenty of peach flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
We really enjoyed this cake. After reading the reviews about not being very peachy tasting, I made a minor change. Instead of adding oil, I used an additional 2/3 cup of the peach juice mixture instead. It drops the fat content and adds more peach taste. Also, using the icing as directed here instead of another kind adds to the peach flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Crump

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is a moist cake with a good taste. I'm giving it 4-stars as it doesn't have the rich peach taste I was hoping for. I would make this cake again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This cake was ok at most. Didn't taste like any fuzzy navel I had ever had. Wasn't as moist as I had expected. Ok but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Twillmann Friedli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centralia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This is a very good recipe, I make it every year for a co-workers birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This recipe was VERY disappointing! It didn't taste like a Fuzzy Navel...in fact, it didn't even have a peach flavor! I'll have to tweek it if I'm to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I made this cake for a family bq and one for a pot luck at work. We had the one at work first without anything added like frosting etc. We loved it, but I felt like something was still missing. So for the one that I was taking to the bq,I made the whipped cream frosting/pudding recipe that another reader had suggested. It really whipped up easy and made the finishing touch to the cake. Everyone loved it. I think next time I will even use more fruit as I never found it too moist like some of the other people mentioned. I will make again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Yes, very moist, but DELICIOUS! Hubby said it's the best cake yet from this site, and I've made a lot of them. I did, however, frost with whipped cream frosting (2 cups heavy cream beaten with one package vanilla instant pudding). Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
The taste of this cake was nice but the best description of it is "wet"...it went way beyond moist. No one that I served it to was overly thrilled with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
THIS WAS NOT WHAT I HAD EXPECTED - WE DID NOT CARE FOR IT - STRONG TASTE OF ALCOHOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States