Fusion Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Personally, this was too vinegary for me. The only thing I liked about the vinegar was that it reduced the astonishing amount of salt I always seem to add to my regular hummus recipe. However, taste-wise, I prefer traditional hummus...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Fresh, unique flavor and so easy to make! I used dried rosemary (1 tsp for 2 sprigs fresh) and doubled the garlic. I also used a bit less balsamic vinegar and used most of the liquid from the can of garbanzo beans rather than cold water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Sorry, no one ate this when I served it at a potluck. I liked it okay--it was quite dark because of the balsamic vinegar, so this may have turned people off trying it. I prefer my hummus less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I LOVED this recipe, and chose it because of the balsamic vinegar in the recipe. I usually do not cook with rosemary, so I was going to add it in the end if it needed something. It was great without it. I also added a tsp of oil to make it a little lighter. Served on ak-mak seasame crackers. YUM! This is my favorite hummus recipe so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
My husband loved this and I didn't really care for it. I think you really need to like Rosemary it was just too strong for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I really like this recipe. Made it for my sis's birthday party. Many compliments. Only variations I made to recipe is doubled the garlic and I didn't need all the liquid. Cut back whereever you want. Have made this recipe as another reviewer suggested with 1 part garbanzos and 1 part black beans. The black beans are slightly heathier, but for guests I would recommend sticking to the garbanzos. Looks less muddy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I got lots of compliments on it but it's not really my flavor for hummus. Be careful on the vinegar...taste as you add. I blended a bunch of crumbled feta - very nice addition. Rosemary adds excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliKupcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boelus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Great recipe. I made half the quantity but added the juice of half a lemon, instead of adding water, for that extra tang. This also eliminated the need for adding salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Excellent recipe! I was making a dish for a party. I used a spicy hummus recipe, but for my friends who can't handle the heat, I chose this recipe. I have never seen a hummus made without tahini- I have always thought that was a staple ingredient so I added 3 tablespoons to a doubled recipe. Could have used more, but it was just fine without it. The recipe isn't clear whether to use the chickpea brine or to drain it. I separated the two and then used just enough brine to replace the oil. Other than that I didn't mess with the ingredients at all. I thought it had a more wholesome, homemade taste/texture than that super-light fluffy stuff you can get in the store. I don't feel like I get my money's worth out of the store bought brands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Good ... the fresh rosemary is a great addition ... I added some fresh parsley, too, as one reviewer suggested ... also, I just left the oil out completely, to cut fat/calories ... it came together great without it! Oh, and for those who like a bit of a kick: A shake of cayenne does it nicely! Thanks for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States