Fusion Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I recently made this chili and served it to 20 or so guests, along with a few other chili options for those who did not eat pork or beef. Fusion Chili is well worth the effort! I was asked to print copies of the recipe for folks to take home. Make Fusion chili ahead of time, refrigerate at least overnight, then warm it up and serve (I used a Crock Pot). The blend of flavors is complex and slides from very sweet at first bite to a wonderful dry heat after a few moments. Chili doesn't get any better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
CLAP CLAP CLAP Excellent!!!! I agree with the description. It is the perfect blend of Tex and Mex. I am a Texas girl living in California land of Baha Mexican cooking. Fish tacos are good, but I forgot how wonderful Texas tastes. A well thought out recipe. Excellent texture, taste and heat. I used 10 chipolte peppers in adobe sauce from a can. This saved the entire first step. I just used 10 not the whole can and it was perfect. I also added 2 extra cans of diced tomatoes. I prefer my chili a bit soupy since most thicken later. I only used 1 large yellow onion. I also added some red and green bell peppers I really felt like I was building a great tasting chili right from the get go. I loved the extra touch of carmalizing the tomato paste. Really added a nice layer of flavor. This is the best chili I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This chili was FANTASTIC and so much fun to make,love the sweet followed by heat.EXCELLENT! Ancho chilies are kind of expensive,but you should have a few in the recipe for their great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Awesome flavour and texture. Hot yet sweet. I used this in a family/friend chili cook-off and walked away with first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
This is the best chili I have ever tasted. One of 17 entries in my office's Annual Chili Cook-off and got voted first place. Don't let the term "sweet" throw you. The sweet is very subtle and only one of the many layers of flavors. The "serves 12" recipe makes about 6 quarts. I made a half-recipe and added 2 (15 oz.) cans of diced tomatoes for a total of 4 quarts. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I was looking for a new chili recipe for our upcoming Superbowl party. Wow!! This recipe is has an incredible flavor. I thought that the ancho chilis would be hard to find but found them easily in the international section at Walmart. I do not have a food processor for the chilis so I used a food chopper instead and got them small enough to "paste." Also used cumin seeds instead of ground cumin. Otherwise, followed recipe exactly. My husband and I loved it!! This will now replace my old chili recipe. Can't wait to use at the party!! Go Panthers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
GREAT CHILI! This is one of the most flavorful chili's I've ever made - my family loved it! I also added several dried Chipotle peppers (prepared the same way as the Ancho) for a slight smoky flavor with a spicy kick. I also added diced green and red pepper. I only used about 1.5 lbs of hot italian sausage plus the 3# of ground beef. It is very thick so you might want to add some water or tomato sauce if you don't like it that dense. Don't leave anything out of this recipe as every ingredient adds it's own special flavor! WONDERFUL - Thank You for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
This stuff is great!! Made it for a Halloween chili party we had and it went over great! We also used it for a chili cookoff and won second place!! This recipe makes a lot. Looking foward to making it every year. It has so much flavor, sweet yet has a bite. Would definately recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Best Chili Ever, However I did not add honey or beans because I am on a low carb diet. Instead of Ground Beef I used some steak that I had left over, and cut it into cubes. The perfect amount of spiceness. Will Definently make again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
This chili is great. I used regular Italian sausage instead of the "hot Italian" and I thought that it had just the right amount of "kick". Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States