Fusion Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
CLAP CLAP CLAP Excellent!!!! I agree with the description. It is the perfect blend of Tex and Mex. I am a Texas girl living in California land of Baha Mexican cooking. Fish tacos are good, but I forgot how wonderful Texas tastes. A well thought out recipe. Excellent texture, taste and heat. I used 10 chipolte peppers in adobe sauce from a can. This saved the entire first step. I just used 10 not the whole can and it was perfect. I also added 2 extra cans of diced tomatoes. I prefer my chili a bit soupy since most thicken later. I only used 1 large yellow onion. I also added some red and green bell peppers I really felt like I was building a great tasting chili right from the get go. I loved the extra touch of carmalizing the tomato paste. Really added a nice layer of flavor. This is the best chili I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I am so glad I was enticed to make this. It appeared to be time/work intensive but looked interesting - it is worth every bit of effort and fun to make as well. My chile has always been -well, chili. This is CHILI. I've never used dried peppers before. No problem finding them but only 5 in a bag and with cost in mind I bought only one bag. That amount was actually perfect for my family. I used the internet to define how to make the ancho paste and then winged it because recipe does not clarify for neophite dried pepper users whether to put the liquid the peppers soaked in, in the food processor along with the peppers to make the paste. I made quite a mess doing it too but that will go better next time now that I've done it once. I got 1 lb less italian sausage and when I got home from the grocery store discovered that I had picked up a pkg of hot and a pkg of mild which actually turned out to be excellent. I don't use a lot of sausage of any kind and was afraid it's flavor would overwhelm everything else, it doesn't. I agree with others that 1/4 cup of honey is perfect. My husband said this is the best chili he's ever had. My daughter's fiance said he doesn't care for chili therefore, doesn't eat it often, but he liked this very much and says when I make it again not to change a thing. Lon, you made me into a chili artist. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Awesome flavour and texture. Hot yet sweet. I used this in a family/friend chili cook-off and walked away with first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
GREAT recipe! I did make a few changes based on my own tastes and at the suggestion of other reviewers. I cut the honey down to 1/4 cup, I also substituted a cup of strong coffee and a bottle of dark beer (a porter) for the wine as I don't think wine has any business in something as earthy as chili and as the recipe was becoming a bit too thick. I also omitted a few veggies I didn't have handy. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geekette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I posted years ago that I had won a cook-off with this chili. Well, since then, I've won THREE more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I recently made this chili and served it to 20 or so guests, along with a few other chili options for those who did not eat pork or beef. Fusion Chili is well worth the effort! I was asked to print copies of the recipe for folks to take home. Make Fusion chili ahead of time, refrigerate at least overnight, then warm it up and serve (I used a Crock Pot). The blend of flavors is complex and slides from very sweet at first bite to a wonderful dry heat after a few moments. Chili doesn't get any better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This chili was a huge hit at a chili cookoff. Of the 30+ pots of chili, mine was gone first. This recipe has taken first place in my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
This is the best chili I have ever tasted. One of 17 entries in my office's Annual Chili Cook-off and got voted first place. Don't let the term "sweet" throw you. The sweet is very subtle and only one of the many layers of flavors. The "serves 12" recipe makes about 6 quarts. I made a half-recipe and added 2 (15 oz.) cans of diced tomatoes for a total of 4 quarts. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe!! I used this with variations below and won our first annual church chili cookoff! Adaptations: Instead of using dried ancho chilies, I took the advice of another reviewer on here and used chipoltes is adobe sauce. I used about 5oz of a 7oz can. But you may want to start with half a can and see how you like the heat then add more of the can. I did still blend the chipoltes. Instead of wine I used beer. About 16+ oz of a dark beer was used vs only 8oz of wine. I cut out a bit of the meat (about 3/4 lb) as it was pretty heavy meat. I added 2 tbsp cocoa powder I added full cup of honey vs half cup I added some water (1/2 cup) The recipe can be pretty hefty on thickness, so I added some liquid (beer, water, etc and added some extra diced tomatoes). This adaptation turned out really well. Hope this helps! It had a nice warm sweet front taste with a dark beer warm heat on the back end. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made this chili for a Halloween/football party I gave this year. I made the full serving and it was completely gone by the end of the day- people were going back for seconds and thirds!! They really loved the big chunks of sausage and that you could taste the sweetness of the honey without it being overwhelming. The only change that I made in the recipe was substituting yellow and red bell peppers for the carrots. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States