Fusion Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This chili was a huge hit at a chili cookoff. Of the 30+ pots of chili, mine was gone first. This recipe has taken first place in my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This chili was very good, it was sweet and hot. I liked the meat to bean ratio (fewer beans than meat). If you prefer a lot of beans I would double the beans. Overall a good recipe. My two year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
My first time making chili and it was very good. I accidentally used Marsala wine, plus I used venision ground meat so the taste was probably slightly different. Also, could not find the right peppers so I just used green chili's. All in all, will make again but with less honey and more Tobasco sauce for a spicier kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I have not made the chili and got the recipe from a co-worker who did make it for a few work functions. There was not even 1 bean left in the pot!!! Everyone loved it! I gave the recipe to my Sister last year for a super bowl party. She said people were loading the chili in take home containers!!! It is a big hit! I am going to try my hand at the chili this year! Hopefully I will make it a successful dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Those ancho chilis can be a pain to track down (and prepare), but I'll be damned if this isn't some of the best chili I have ever had. I entered it in a small little friendly cookoff a couple of my freinds were having and I won. Good good stuff. Word of caution, it's very unique but very delicious. If you are looking for "classic" chili flavors this sure isn't it. But it's incredibly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
My guy loved it! It has a very interesting taste which I believe is the honey. This chili is a bit sweet but then pow! A second later the heat hits. This is time consuming to make - but worth it. I cut the recipe in half and the only change I made was to use 3 cans of tomoatoes instead of two. If I had used 2 cans I would have had to stay close to the pot to stir to make sure the bottom didn't burn. With the three cans I was able to stir every hour. Thanks so much submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I am so glad I was enticed to make this. It appeared to be time/work intensive but looked interesting - it is worth every bit of effort and fun to make as well. My chile has always been -well, chili. This is CHILI. I've never used dried peppers before. No problem finding them but only 5 in a bag and with cost in mind I bought only one bag. That amount was actually perfect for my family. I used the internet to define how to make the ancho paste and then winged it because recipe does not clarify for neophite dried pepper users whether to put the liquid the peppers soaked in, in the food processor along with the peppers to make the paste. I made quite a mess doing it too but that will go better next time now that I've done it once. I got 1 lb less italian sausage and when I got home from the grocery store discovered that I had picked up a pkg of hot and a pkg of mild which actually turned out to be excellent. I don't use a lot of sausage of any kind and was afraid it's flavor would overwhelm everything else, it doesn't. I agree with others that 1/4 cup of honey is perfect. My husband said this is the best chili he's ever had. My daughter's fiance said he doesn't care for chili therefore, doesn't eat it often, but he liked this very much and says when I make it again not to change a thing. Lon, you made me into a chili artist. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
OMG! I brought this to my sons' school annual chili cook-off and almost won! If they had a second place, I would have gotten it. It was a tie for the spicy category and the school principal made the deciding taste test and I only lost because the other chili was spicier (too spicey). I omitted the red pepper sauce and maybe I should have left that in. I made it without beans and only half the honey. I got many compliments on this recipe. It's a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
The first time I made this it was my first attempt at Chili, and everyone LOVED it. I live in a small town with one grocery store that does not always have the exact ingrediants, so it's a little different everytime I make it but I always have people asking for more. Personally it's my favorite recipe, and I have a lot of fun making it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamos79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterbury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Guests totally loved this pot of chili! I used some of the review suggestions: half the honey called for especially. I used 2 lbs. regular sausage and that was plenty!! The left overs made great burritos the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States