Fusion Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I was amazed at how good this chili was. The ingredients lists can be intimidating and preparing the chilies was something I'd never done before, but it wasn't difficult and the result was wonderful. The first taste is one of mild sweetness and good chili flavor, then a warm sensation settles in the mouth. The warmth was nice; it is not a heat that distracts or interferes with the taste and won't set you to downing glass after glass of water to put the fire out. This recipe could be easily adjusted to add more heat if so desired. I will definitely be making this chili again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This chili made me an "award-winning" chef! My friends and I had a chili cook-off, and I won first place (and the $75 prize) out of 11 recipes. I'm only giving this four stars because I modified it quite a bit. First, I only used 3 cans of tomatoes, not 4. I also used stewed and slow-cooked beef that I shredded rather than ground beef. I think that was part of what won over the crowd. I upped the chili powder and cumin spice a bit, also adding cayenne powder and using soaked and blended red pepper flakes, which are hotter than the peppers called for in this recipe. I cooked this at night, let the flavors meld overnight then put it on the crockpot all day. Huuuuuge recipe. Feeds way more than 12, I should say. I don't know how anyone could possibly ever fit this in a deep, wide skillet. Anyway, I brought it to the party with a little hesitance, but I guess the results prove it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
What a DELICIOUS chili! I made this chili for my family on Superbowl Sunday and what a hit! Taste even better the second day! Make a full batch because you'll want to be eating this for dinner the rest of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
We had to throw out our old chili recipe because this one was so good. The sausage and different onions really adds great flavor and the chiles were perfect. It was spicy, sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was pretty good chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
wonderful recipe. I loved it the first time we cooked it, and the second, and the well you get the picture. highly recomend it to the person who likes things spicy with plenty of flavor. I have forgotten all other chili recipes and will remain faithfull due to the tex-mex inspired flavor. THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmore, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Alot of effort for so so results, I expected spectacular flavor and was put off by the anise flavor from the spicey sausage...I didn't try but I think ground pork would be a good substitute for the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Russellville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Great flavor! I roasted the chiles, removed the stems and seeds and ground them in a spice grinder which gave them a wonderful smokey flavor, also it is much easier. I also used dark beer instead of wine as wine gives an Italian taste more like a pasta sauce. I also used habanero hot sauce which gives it a lot of zing which I enjoy but some won't. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
WOW! This is some AWESOME chili! I did make a few changes to it though because I couldn't fins come ingredients. Instead of ancho chilis (believe it or not I couldn't find em) I used canned chipotle peppers, I have used them in other dishes and it ads a great smokey flavor as well as heat. I also used beer to deglaze the pan instead of wine, I agree with the other user that wine has no business in chili =) I plan on making this again for football sunday but this time I am armed with the ancho chilis and am excited about how its going to turn out! Thanks AGAIN for a great recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I posted years ago that I had won a cook-off with this chili. Well, since then, I've won THREE more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States