Fusion Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is a winner! I printed this recipe in 2002 and just made it for the first time in 2009! I am so thankful that I did not throw this recipe away. I used every ingredient it called for but I added 32 ounces of beef broth and I used 12 ancho chili's instead of 10. I would not make it without the beef broth or else you have a very thick paste like chili. It was the biggest hit at my husbands company chili luncheon. Don't try any other chili recipe until you try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Gurba

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hereford, Texas, USA
Living In: Grandview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Honestly, I don't know how this recipe is NOT considered within the "top 20" chili recipes on this web site. I made this for a chili cook-off with 4 or 5 of my neighbors, and it blew everyone's socks off. My slight variations to this recipe were mixing up the types of meat (in addition to ground chuck, I used ground bison, beef tips, as well as hot and mild italian sausage) and instead of ancho chiles, I used dried chipotles and thai bird chiles (only because my local kroger didn't have the anchos).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I've made this chili about 4 times now in the past year. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! The first 2 times I made it exactly as the recipe called for and it was a bit too soupy for my liking and didn't really have the LOOK of chili, but still was delicious. The last 2 times I've made it, I've used ground pork sausage instead of the Italian sausage and used about 2 medium sized cans of tomato sauce along with the diced tomatoes the recipe called for; it was absolutely delicious and definitely looked and tasted more like chili. I normally serve it with sour cream and corn bread. This is definitely my "go to" chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Abner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
honestly i would say 3 1/2 stars, but that's not an option! this is a very good meal, but it lacks the "chili" feel. it's decidley italian in flavor, except for the chilies. I thought there was too much sausage and would have liked peppers and more beans. Really enjoyed it over rice, but the flavor was more italian then anything. We made this for company, and the whole (giant) pot was gone by the time the night was over, so it was a hit though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
We absolutely love this! Easy to make and tastes great! I make this for the family, for my husbands coworkers, for church gatherings and always get lots of complements and an empty pot. For those who aren't into spicy chili this is easy to moderate level of hotness. I will say that I use sweet peppers not anything hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I was amazed at how good this chili was. The ingredients lists can be intimidating and preparing the chilies was something I'd never done before, but it wasn't difficult and the result was wonderful. The first taste is one of mild sweetness and good chili flavor, then a warm sensation settles in the mouth. The warmth was nice; it is not a heat that distracts or interferes with the taste and won't set you to downing glass after glass of water to put the fire out. This recipe could be easily adjusted to add more heat if so desired. I will definitely be making this chili again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Janssen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This chili made me an "award-winning" chef! My friends and I had a chili cook-off, and I won first place (and the $75 prize) out of 11 recipes. I'm only giving this four stars because I modified it quite a bit. First, I only used 3 cans of tomatoes, not 4. I also used stewed and slow-cooked beef that I shredded rather than ground beef. I think that was part of what won over the crowd. I upped the chili powder and cumin spice a bit, also adding cayenne powder and using soaked and blended red pepper flakes, which are hotter than the peppers called for in this recipe. I cooked this at night, let the flavors meld overnight then put it on the crockpot all day. Huuuuuge recipe. Feeds way more than 12, I should say. I don't know how anyone could possibly ever fit this in a deep, wide skillet. Anyway, I brought it to the party with a little hesitance, but I guess the results prove it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
What a DELICIOUS chili! I made this chili for my family on Superbowl Sunday and what a hit! Taste even better the second day! Make a full batch because you'll want to be eating this for dinner the rest of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
We had to throw out our old chili recipe because this one was so good. The sausage and different onions really adds great flavor and the chiles were perfect. It was spicy, sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was pretty good chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States