Fusion Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This had a nice smoky flavor. Nothing really sets it apart, but the recipe offers a very good bowl of chili. Shredded cheddar cheese on top perfected it. My only change was to use beer instead of wine just because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Making the chili sauce is the key! The last couple of times I made chili, I needed to keep adding chili powder to increase the chili flavor, sometimes making the final product grainy. This sauce had GREAT chili flavor without having to add a ton of chili powder. We loved this chili. I made it as written, except used a combination of four different dried chili peppers for the sauce, simply because I'm always buying them and rarely use all. I will use this as my new recipe! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
GREAT--zesty, interesting, unusual--chili! The reviews are so impressive that I tried to follow the recipe closely as possible, though toward the end I started taking some reviewers' suggestions. *I hate fennel's anise-y flavor so I used a lb. of Gaspar's Hot Chourico and a lb. of the good pork breakfast sausage my butcher makes. (Five lbs. meat total; 6 lbs. is too much, IMO.) *I had only yellow onions, so used three med. ones. *I had only one sad little stalk of celery so I added a cup of froz. chopped green peppers and 6 oz. chopped canned green chiles. *Was doubtful re:carrots in chili, but grated in a scant cup. Undetectable, really, & healthy. *I can't even remember how much additional liquid I added; as written, the chili (even leaving out a lb. of the sausage) is more a fork-food than a stew. I added 2 cans beef broth, 2 cans chix broth, ~a cup of strong coffee (great suggestion!) *I worried about the honey, but the sweetness is subtle and interesting. Next time, though, I might try 1/3 cup instead of 1/2. *For the hot sauce I used mostly Chipotle Tabasco, the rest reg. Tabasco. *Same w/the chili powder; mostly Penzey's ground Chipotle, the rest chili powder. *When it was nearly done I thought it needed a little more chile flavor, so I added 2 more tsps. cumin, dash of Mex. oregano, Tbsp. of Penzey's dry Adobo seasoning. It's an artful blend of flavors. I'm a native Texan and like my chili authentic, but this is lovely. My compliments to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is the best chili I've ever tasted. Just a tip--let the ancho chiles soak while you prepare all of the other ingredients and give them a stir now and then. It took a bit of processing to get them to a paste consistency and I think further soaking would have helped me with that. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
it is great I did not know what a really good chili was before I made this chili.. the anchos are the key. not to hot just right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was a hit! I took this to my church's chili cook off and I won for most spiciest. It was great. I loved making it, and enjoyed eatting it as well. Thank you sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Murphy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Great tasting chili this is. Fixed it for a company get together/cook-off. Came in second place of 19 pots. Made a tweek so I could fix for the audience, but the whole of it was the original flavor. Thanks a bunch. Add this to my recipe collection for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aragorn1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Terrific! I made it for the super bowl and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is wonderful chili. It has a sneaky heat to it. I agree with it's description totally. It is worth the effort and time it takes. I'm entering it in a chili cook-off tomorrow. I'm glad I chose this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I ended up quartering the recipe because I was only cooking for 2 people and still got 4-6 bowls of chili. I used all the ingredients except for the hot sauce (The wife can't handle spice). I also added a can of 16oz tomato sauce because I like my chili a little soupier. The result was fabulous. I actually prefer tons of heat in my foods and this was very flavorful without of bunch of spicy ingredients. You can notice the layers of flavor in each bite. I think the tomato paste caramelizing process was key to the success of this recipe. I used to use a knockoff of Wendy's Chili, but this will now be my go to chili recipe. Thanks, LONBINDER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States