Fusion Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Delicious. My chili is still simmering. But it's definately very tastey....I cant stop tasting it. The honey adds a nice sweetness, but not too sweet. I happened to have poblano chilies, which is the non dried ancho. I roasted, pealed and blended with a few jalepenos, the parsley and honey to make the honey/chile mixture. This really wasnt too labor intensive....even having to roast the poblanos. But it's worth it if you are looking for a chili that's not as much work We're going to top it with a little sour cream, crumbled fresco queso and corn bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This had a nice smoky flavor. Nothing really sets it apart, but the recipe offers a very good bowl of chili. Shredded cheddar cheese on top perfected it. My only change was to use beer instead of wine just because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Making the chili sauce is the key! The last couple of times I made chili, I needed to keep adding chili powder to increase the chili flavor, sometimes making the final product grainy. This sauce had GREAT chili flavor without having to add a ton of chili powder. We loved this chili. I made it as written, except used a combination of four different dried chili peppers for the sauce, simply because I'm always buying them and rarely use all. I will use this as my new recipe! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
GREAT--zesty, interesting, unusual--chili! The reviews are so impressive that I tried to follow the recipe closely as possible, though toward the end I started taking some reviewers' suggestions. *I hate fennel's anise-y flavor so I used a lb. of Gaspar's Hot Chourico and a lb. of the good pork breakfast sausage my butcher makes. (Five lbs. meat total; 6 lbs. is too much, IMO.) *I had only yellow onions, so used three med. ones. *I had only one sad little stalk of celery so I added a cup of froz. chopped green peppers and 6 oz. chopped canned green chiles. *Was doubtful re:carrots in chili, but grated in a scant cup. Undetectable, really, & healthy. *I can't even remember how much additional liquid I added; as written, the chili (even leaving out a lb. of the sausage) is more a fork-food than a stew. I added 2 cans beef broth, 2 cans chix broth, ~a cup of strong coffee (great suggestion!) *I worried about the honey, but the sweetness is subtle and interesting. Next time, though, I might try 1/3 cup instead of 1/2. *For the hot sauce I used mostly Chipotle Tabasco, the rest reg. Tabasco. *Same w/the chili powder; mostly Penzey's ground Chipotle, the rest chili powder. *When it was nearly done I thought it needed a little more chile flavor, so I added 2 more tsps. cumin, dash of Mex. oregano, Tbsp. of Penzey's dry Adobo seasoning. It's an artful blend of flavors. I'm a native Texan and like my chili authentic, but this is lovely. My compliments to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is the best chili I've ever tasted. Just a tip--let the ancho chiles soak while you prepare all of the other ingredients and give them a stir now and then. It took a bit of processing to get them to a paste consistency and I think further soaking would have helped me with that. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
it is great I did not know what a really good chili was before I made this chili.. the anchos are the key. not to hot just right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was a hit! I took this to my church's chili cook off and I won for most spiciest. It was great. I loved making it, and enjoyed eatting it as well. Thank you sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Great tasting chili this is. Fixed it for a company get together/cook-off. Came in second place of 19 pots. Made a tweek so I could fix for the audience, but the whole of it was the original flavor. Thanks a bunch. Add this to my recipe collection for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aragorn1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Terrific! I made it for the super bowl and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is wonderful chili. It has a sneaky heat to it. I agree with it's description totally. It is worth the effort and time it takes. I'm entering it in a chili cook-off tomorrow. I'm glad I chose this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States