Fusion Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
First, it was very time consuming pulling together 24 ingredients for this recipe. I halved the recipe, cooked it in the morning, and then transferred to a slow cooker. The canned tomatoes went in undrained, but the kidney and pinto beans went into the chili with their liquid. The mixture was very dry, and I still added a little bit more red wine, otherwise, followed the recipe to the T. I do agree with a comment made by some of the other reviewers. Do yourself a favor and start by reducing the honey, as I thought it turned out pretty sweet. You always can add more, but once it's in there, you can't take it out. I'm giving this 4 stars, but I doubt that I'll make it again. Admittedly, I don't have a huge attention span, so I think I'll make the compromise to stick with a recipe with fewer ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
dynomite!...was worried about the honey qty...so i followed others advice...thats it now my # 1 chili recipe...even better reheated...good job
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe!! I used this with variations below and won our first annual church chili cookoff! Adaptations: Instead of using dried ancho chilies, I took the advice of another reviewer on here and used chipoltes is adobe sauce. I used about 5oz of a 7oz can. But you may want to start with half a can and see how you like the heat then add more of the can. I did still blend the chipoltes. Instead of wine I used beer. About 16+ oz of a dark beer was used vs only 8oz of wine. I cut out a bit of the meat (about 3/4 lb) as it was pretty heavy meat. I added 2 tbsp cocoa powder I added full cup of honey vs half cup I added some water (1/2 cup) The recipe can be pretty hefty on thickness, so I added some liquid (beer, water, etc and added some extra diced tomatoes). This adaptation turned out really well. Hope this helps! It had a nice warm sweet front taste with a dark beer warm heat on the back end. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This recipe was great! I followed the directions with the exception of cutting back on the amount of honey. My mother didnt think that I needed to let the chili simmer for three hours, but the flavors do have a chance to blend when simmering on low heat. I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
made this for 10 guests. people raved about it. i took suggestions and went light on the honey, but i think it could have used more sweetness. I loved the ancho paste and the carrots put a different spin on it! i'm from the midwest and no one here has heard of carrots in chilli!! This also went great with macaroni...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I did not enjoy the sweet taste that the honey gave the chili. I even used half of the honey that the recipe called for, as per the suggestion of others. I also thought it took way too long to prepare. If I'm going to spend an hour and a half preparing a dish, it had better knock my socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Kemper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Help! I can't stop eating this! OMG it's wonderful and so different. Chili will never be the same. I used a 3lb roast (slow cooked), 1lb hot and 1 lb sweet Ital sausage, 3 cans beans, and 2 cups of frozen corn - which added a nice color and crunch. Left out the carrots. I can see why others won prizes with this! And it may make a lot, but certainly not too much based on its flavor. I wish I had more left over to take to people. Making it is work but fun because it's a creation, not just throwing stuff in a pot like I usually would do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrie
Home Town: Essex, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is it! Everyone loved it. I used canned chipotle peppers in adobe as suggested (whirred 10 in my bullet blender), chorizo, added an extra can of beans, and only 1/4c honey. I was worried the chipoltles would make the flavor too smokey-but after cooking a while it was perfect! This makes a lot too. After browning meat, sauteing veggies, and carmelizing the paste I added everything to my electric roaster oven to simmer. It didn't even make it the full 3 hours before people were dipping out their second bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made this chili for a Halloween/football party I gave this year. I made the full serving and it was completely gone by the end of the day- people were going back for seconds and thirds!! They really loved the big chunks of sausage and that you could taste the sweetness of the honey without it being overwhelming. The only change that I made in the recipe was substituting yellow and red bell peppers for the carrots. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Delicious. My chili is still simmering. But it's definately very tastey....I cant stop tasting it. The honey adds a nice sweetness, but not too sweet. I happened to have poblano chilies, which is the non dried ancho. I roasted, pealed and blended with a few jalepenos, the parsley and honey to make the honey/chile mixture. This really wasnt too labor intensive....even having to roast the poblanos. But it's worth it if you are looking for a chili that's not as much work We're going to top it with a little sour cream, crumbled fresco queso and corn bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States