Fusion Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I entered this chili in a contest we were having at work and it won out of 12 entries!! I made a couple modifications. I used chorizo instead of Italian sausage andi ommitted the carrots. Its a little work but well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Entered this in our church chili cookoff and won FIRST PLACE. Only change i made was used 4 tablespoons of chili powder. Folks always mentioned that none of the chili's were hot enough. Mine was not over hot but just right!! Thanx. The flavors were wonderful. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rrawhide
Home Town: Springville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Our family has been hosting a Chili Cook off for quite a few years at my home. Since I host it, I don't usually enter it. This year, I kept my entry a secret and out of ten Chili's ~ this one won! I agree with most that I had to add much more liquid to my taste. I added two large cans of diced tomatoes AND a large can of tomato puree. I used the entire amount of honey and even added a little bit more toward the end. I used a full can of chipolte peppers and the sauce (instead of the dried) for a real sweet/hot chili. On our table for all of the chili's that we served, we had chopped onion, sour cream, shreaded cheese, diced chili's, and jalapeno peppers. Next time, we might offer some rice or noodles for Cincinatti chili for those that want a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
The best recipe i have ever made!!! I am now the official chili maker in the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
First, it was very time consuming pulling together 24 ingredients for this recipe. I halved the recipe, cooked it in the morning, and then transferred to a slow cooker. The canned tomatoes went in undrained, but the kidney and pinto beans went into the chili with their liquid. The mixture was very dry, and I still added a little bit more red wine, otherwise, followed the recipe to the T. I do agree with a comment made by some of the other reviewers. Do yourself a favor and start by reducing the honey, as I thought it turned out pretty sweet. You always can add more, but once it's in there, you can't take it out. I'm giving this 4 stars, but I doubt that I'll make it again. Admittedly, I don't have a huge attention span, so I think I'll make the compromise to stick with a recipe with fewer ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
dynomite!...was worried about the honey qty...so i followed others advice...thats it now my # 1 chili recipe...even better reheated...good job
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe!! I used this with variations below and won our first annual church chili cookoff! Adaptations: Instead of using dried ancho chilies, I took the advice of another reviewer on here and used chipoltes is adobe sauce. I used about 5oz of a 7oz can. But you may want to start with half a can and see how you like the heat then add more of the can. I did still blend the chipoltes. Instead of wine I used beer. About 16+ oz of a dark beer was used vs only 8oz of wine. I cut out a bit of the meat (about 3/4 lb) as it was pretty heavy meat. I added 2 tbsp cocoa powder I added full cup of honey vs half cup I added some water (1/2 cup) The recipe can be pretty hefty on thickness, so I added some liquid (beer, water, etc and added some extra diced tomatoes). This adaptation turned out really well. Hope this helps! It had a nice warm sweet front taste with a dark beer warm heat on the back end. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This recipe was great! I followed the directions with the exception of cutting back on the amount of honey. My mother didnt think that I needed to let the chili simmer for three hours, but the flavors do have a chance to blend when simmering on low heat. I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
made this for 10 guests. people raved about it. i took suggestions and went light on the honey, but i think it could have used more sweetness. I loved the ancho paste and the carrots put a different spin on it! i'm from the midwest and no one here has heard of carrots in chilli!! This also went great with macaroni...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I did not enjoy the sweet taste that the honey gave the chili. I even used half of the honey that the recipe called for, as per the suggestion of others. I also thought it took way too long to prepare. If I'm going to spend an hour and a half preparing a dish, it had better knock my socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States