Fusion Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
No leftovers at my house. I was told to make it again. I did make a few minor changes but this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alma, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This recipe is great. I does take done time but not a ton of skill. It is just great flavors that melt together to make a sweet, savory, and spicy dish. I made the recipe as is, with the addition of some spicy chili paste. I love really spicy dishes and it made it perfect for me and my family. The nice thing about this recipe is that you can make small variation to fit the taste you prefer and stl have a great dish because it is filled with so great flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made this chili for a Superbowl party and boy was it a hit. I slow cooked it the night before. I used half of the recommended honey and it was perfect. I substituted the wine for a dark creamy ale - which gave it a very nice taste. The Ancho peppers had flavour but no heat. I added two Jalapeno peppers & a Banana pepper. Everyone (including the kids) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I substituted beer for the red wine. Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wacker Strange

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Made this for chili cook off, I adjusted some ingredients, used the peppers in adobe sauce, just easier for me. Cut the honey in half and left out the carrots. I did add sine green pepper. I also added beef broth since the chili was really thick, I'd say I added about 2 cups. Be aware this makes a huge pot of chili you will need a big stock pot. Turned out great, the sweet hits you first then the hear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Decided to try this recipe for a American Legion Chili Contest. Turned out great. Stuck strickly with the recipe and used a decent Cabernet Sauvignon for the wine. The Ancho peppers really give it just the right amount of heat. 5th place out of 60 entrys. Next time I think I will try a dark beer instead of the wine to give it a different twang. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darin Loftis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is a wonderful dish! It smells great while cooking it and tastes even better! I like my chili very spicy so I replaced the anchos with a mix of habaneros, jalapenos, and anaheims. It did not disappoint! Also I found it very hard to find dried chiles in the store so I made my own. It was super easy though it did take all day. What you can do if you want to dry your own chiles is cut them in half, take out all the seeds and the white guts, then put them on a baking sheet and throw them in the oven at 150 degrees for 8-10 hours. You can leave your oven on all day while you are at work, and when you get home, you'll have dry chiles! Also I had some dry black beans laying around so I used those instead. I think they actually worked out better than the recommended kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Honestly this is one of the BEST chili recipes ever!!! I didn't have any red wine to deglaze, so I used the good ol' standby- Guiness beer! Also, I used 1 pound ground turkey, 1 pound ground meat and 2 pounds spicy sausage. I did add about a 1/4 cup of brown sugar also- I like a sweet/spicy chili personally. Thank you, thank you for finally giving me a good chili recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Love this recipe! Took a bit longer than my other chilli recipes but compliments from everyone that tried it! Look forward to making this one again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Some of my guests really enjoyed this, but it way way too sweet for me. It reminded me of sloppy joes, which I enjoy but was not what I was intending when making this for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States