Fusion Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Made this for chili cook off, I adjusted some ingredients, used the peppers in adobe sauce, just easier for me. Cut the honey in half and left out the carrots. I did add sine green pepper. I also added beef broth since the chili was really thick, I'd say I added about 2 cups. Be aware this makes a huge pot of chili you will need a big stock pot. Turned out great, the sweet hits you first then the hear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Decided to try this recipe for a American Legion Chili Contest. Turned out great. Stuck strickly with the recipe and used a decent Cabernet Sauvignon for the wine. The Ancho peppers really give it just the right amount of heat. 5th place out of 60 entrys. Next time I think I will try a dark beer instead of the wine to give it a different twang. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darin Loftis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is a wonderful dish! It smells great while cooking it and tastes even better! I like my chili very spicy so I replaced the anchos with a mix of habaneros, jalapenos, and anaheims. It did not disappoint! Also I found it very hard to find dried chiles in the store so I made my own. It was super easy though it did take all day. What you can do if you want to dry your own chiles is cut them in half, take out all the seeds and the white guts, then put them on a baking sheet and throw them in the oven at 150 degrees for 8-10 hours. You can leave your oven on all day while you are at work, and when you get home, you'll have dry chiles! Also I had some dry black beans laying around so I used those instead. I think they actually worked out better than the recommended kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Honestly this is one of the BEST chili recipes ever!!! I didn't have any red wine to deglaze, so I used the good ol' standby- Guiness beer! Also, I used 1 pound ground turkey, 1 pound ground meat and 2 pounds spicy sausage. I did add about a 1/4 cup of brown sugar also- I like a sweet/spicy chili personally. Thank you, thank you for finally giving me a good chili recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Love this recipe! Took a bit longer than my other chilli recipes but compliments from everyone that tried it! Look forward to making this one again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Some of my guests really enjoyed this, but it way way too sweet for me. It reminded me of sloppy joes, which I enjoy but was not what I was intending when making this for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This chili was good but for the amount of time it took to prep and cook this and the VERY costly price tag, I more than likely won't be making this chili again. I like my chili with some spice but not much (I get migraines easily), so I didn't add pepper sauce and I only used 2 lbs of hot sausage instead of 3 (the 3rd lb was mild). I also didn't feel that there was much flavor to the chili considering the amount of onion, garlic, and spices it required. Lastly, I ended up using almost 3x the amount of honey it called for for me to like it. Again, it was good, but I've had better and for a lot cheaper $$$.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey M. Torres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Just the most perfect chili ever. I used about half of the amount of honey, as others have mentioned. I also dried pablano peppers, instead of using prepackaged ancho chiles and the flavor was amazing! The spice flavor is not too strong and slowly melts into a pleasant sweetness that is not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This chili is AMAZEBALLS! When the days start to shorten and the air starts to get a little cooler I start craving chili and this recipe hits the spot every time! I make the recipe just about as it is written except that I only use about 1.5 pounds of hot sausage and no other meat. This makes for a slightly soupier chili than what the recipe calls for but we like it that way. We also like it a little spicier so I usually jack up the heat with 1/2 cup of hot sauce or so. But the base recipe is killer. Make this one and you won't make another chili recipe ever again! We serve over mashed potatoes and garnish with fresh cilantro and avocado. Makes a really filling meal full of comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjc123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Best chili recipe I've ever made! Combo of sweet and spicy was perfect. I couldn't find the dried chiles in the grocery store so I carefully added chopped serrano peppers (high on the heat side). Caution though, this makes a boat load of chili as published so unless you're having a huge party or want to freeze some adjust the portions. Great recipe - applause for the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeffcancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States