Funnel Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
this was sooo easy..makes me wonder why I never tried making them before. We love funnel cakes, but who wants to pay close to $10 for one? We dont have alot of fried foods, but this is one I will certainly make again. I use canola oil for frying and I was worried it would change the taste, but it didnt. thanks for such a great recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Thought this was a GREAT recipe and my husband/family loved it! I added approx 1 tsp of vanilla, but other than that, prepared as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
One of the reviewers of this recipe was really mean, if you don't like a recipe just say so, you don't have to insult the submitter. I added 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tsp. vanilla to the batter. Tastes exactly like the Fair funnel cakes, which means, this recipe does exactly what it's supposed to. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This is a very good and simple recipe, very similar to the one I used back in the early '70s as a youth. I added a little vanilla extract, and used a thermometer to make sure my oil temp was correct - but other then that it's very good. And to the person who gave this simple recipe a bad rating, it appears like you don't really know how to cook - sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
very good, just like the carnivals
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vaughan, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Just like the fair! Any time I am at a place that sells funnel cakes I must have one! -- And I don't share!! Good thing I am only around these places about every other year. And at $5 a pop and every delectable calorie, these are a rare treat. Thank you Tarmia for the recipe. We don't eat out often but my kids constantly ask for 'any specific resturaunt joint.' It is nice to have a few special recipes in the bag, like this one, that my kids can request. Though not the healthiest (since I stock every item needed to make this recipe year round) but it is wonderful to have once or twice a year at home as a treat. I will never spend fair prices again. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
These were very good. First we tried making them in the deep fryer. It got stuck in the grates. Once they were removed, the batter stuck to the heating coils. Then, we tried a cast-iron skillet on the stove. That worked well. We were making them for 7 people. We had a chance to perfect our skills. We used a glass measuring cup, poured slowly, make big cirly-q's so that when it puffs up you still have space in between the lines. We topped with powdered sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
These taste just like those you buy at the carnivals. I will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
great recipe. my husband is a funnel cake fanatic, so this is perfect for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamaica, New York, USA
Living In: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
The best funnel cake recipe I have ever made. Taste just like the ones you get at the State Fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States