Funnel Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Reen
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I wanted to see what this cake tasted like exactly, so I followed the recipe exactly. While it's not the funnel cake from a carnival, it's still very good. I will follow the recipe when I make it again, as I didn't think it needed improvement. If I do want a change, I'll try someone else's recipe first. That said, It's important to have the oil at the right temperature in order for the cakes to come out correctly. Just cooking them a little longer or a little shorter doesn't work with funnel cake. 360 to 375 is perfect. Cook approximately 1 minute per side or crispier go 1 1/2 min per side. A must (for me, anyway) is the funnel cake pitcher. See photo. It makes it so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Served at my son's birthday party. Easy to make and tasted good as well. Added more cinnamon and some sugar to the batter for flavor. Use a ketchup botttle with the opening cut out for more even and precise cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is a great recipe. I made it exactly as directed, and it came out beautifully. My husband ate 4 plates of it... I think it liked it. ;) Great funnel cake. Anyone who thinks it's horrible, obviously didn't do as directed... Oh, and I also added some cherry pie filly on top, came out great. :}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amour

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
very very VERY good, i topped it with strawberry sauce, also from this site, came out DELICIOUS. very happy, definetly will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet Stoelting

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
it wasnt so good at least not how they are at the carnivals
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This was an awesome recipe...my family loved these funnel cakes. I'll never pay those outrages prices at the fairs again. The only change I made, was adding a 1 tsp of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoxyBrown70

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I will give this four instead of five because I had to add a 1/2 cup of sugar. I also just poured the batter from my gravy boat instead of using a funnel. I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Great recipe and super easy. Just follow the directions and it should turn out just right. This recipe is also really flexable- add some more cinnamon for extra flavor. I also didnt have a funnel, so i just slowly poured the batter with a measuring cup (i also mixed the indredients in the same measuring cup to save dishes) and it turned out great. Cant get easier or better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I saw one review that said this was bad... whoever that was probably just didn't follow directions. I cut this recipe in half when I made mine. You really have to make sure the egg and milk are mixed together well. It turned out delish just like the one's I use to get as a kid at the fair! Simple and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Excellent batter! They taste wonderful! My family loved them and I will definitely make these again. Best if eaten asap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States