Funnel Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
I love, LOVE these...and anytime I can get one...I DO. The only thing I changed with this was to use a pastry bag instead of a funnel (didn't have one to use). It actually worked quite well. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
excellent. definetely making this again. although i found the portions a bit too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I bake and cook a lot, and this had been a big flop with my dinner guests. Too much salt, and not enough flavor. Not one that I will ever try again, I would rather wait for the fair to come to town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
I have been searching for a funnel cake recipe that actually worked! This recipe is wonderful. I was making them for my kids the first time and suddenly had a neighborhood of kids at my door. The second time I made it i used less cinnamon and took bite size candy bars and oreos and dipped them in the batter then dropped them into the fryer. Another hit!!! I really preferred banana slices the best. Thanks to the person who submitted this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Not very good, a little too doughy for my liking....I'll go to the amusement park to buy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikuya Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
i added some sugar and vanilla to the batter and that made them taste alot better and i ended up frying them in medium sized rounds cause i couldnt get eh shape rite! but these were pretty good! def will be makign this again!thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This just didn't taste right. I was disappointed in the flavor and it was really thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Excellent. Like other fried foods, very oily. We added extra flour to make it thicker. It took us two tries before we finally got it right. The first time, it got stuck to the deep fryer's cage/handle-thing, so we removed it. Second, we poured it in too fast and it was a giant blob that didn't cook on the inside. Third time(correct) we poured a small stream in and made circles. The dough started collecting randomly at the top, and then we connected them so they it looked like a real funnel cake. We're college students with minimal cooking experience, and it turned out great, so I believe that the negative comment here was due to the cooks, not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Really good! We had lots of fun with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckymc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Not as good as what you get at the fair, but if you enjoy french toast (like we all do at my house) you'll love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States