Funnel Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
It was fast and easy and I could get my younger sister into helping. We used an empty Catsup squeeze bottle to keep the mess down and just squeezed it into a small sauces pan. They came out beautifully. I also added a splash of vanilla on a whim and it just sent the recipe over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Hefley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
My funnel cakes tasted identical to the ones at the fair. I am so impressed with how easy and delicious they turned out. I didn't have vegetable oil, so I used canola oil. I will admit, the first cake was a disaster because it broke into tiny bits. I did clean out an empty ketchup bottle and filled it with the batter. After the first mishap, I squeezed the bottle harder and it worked out much better. I am embarrassed that I ever spent $5 or more for ONE of these at the fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel McGirt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This just wasn't that great. It did fix our funnel cake cravings that we were having, but I will for sure try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlove3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I love this recipe, I found it easier when I put the batter in a zip lock bag and snipped one corner, but be careful not to put too much batter or it will get all over the place and you wont be able to stop the flow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mamamia1227
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I really liked this recipe it was quick and simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Added a little more sugar to make my batter a little sweeter. TIP: I couldnt find my correct size funnel so I just used a ketchup bottle!! Easy clean up, less to no mess either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
this was the best recipe. I will be making more of these in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
The kids and I had a great time making then eating this recipe. I found the simplicity of the recipe and process a fun way to work with teaching the kids basic cooking techniques -measuring, etc... Love the experience of making this recipe. Its taste is accurate to the fun fare and the fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I am obsessed with funnel cake!! This didn't seem quite the same as the pro's make it, but it was still really good. I didn't have enough oil for the 8 cups to fry it, so next time I'll be sure to use all 8 and see if that changes anything. The kids were in heaven when I made this, it was a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
The ONLY thing I did differently to the recipe was to use 1/2 cinnamon and 1/2 pumpkin pie spice everything else I followed to the letter. I thought these tasted EXACTLY like funnel cakes from the fair. To the people that complained they weren't sweet enough - what makes funnel cakes sweet is the topping. That's what the powdered sugar is for (or fruit etc). It also makes a big difference what kind of oil you fry them in and the temperature. I did try (on one cake) using barely any oil in a pan (like one reviewer said) and it came out flat almost like a tortilla. Let's face it - these aren't health food so if you want it authentic you're gonna have to deep fry it in Crisco. I did hear Crisco has come out with a non trans fat oil. I'll have to try it. I think this recipe is 100%. I wouldn't add sugar to the batter at all. I also used a measuring cup to drizzle the batter into the pan. Once you get the hang of it these are pretty easy. They got rave reviews at my house, we just won't be eating them too often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States