Funnel Cakes IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Really good recipe! We are using this recipe for a scouting event. A great tip to dispense this, is to use a cleaned out ketchup bottle. Use your funnel or a funnel made out of foil and laddle batter into your ketchup bottle. Makes it easier to just squirt it in and the apperance comes out just as nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Very easy and tasty recipe!!! Adding the vanilla is a MUST!! Using the "ketchup bottle" was a great idea, makes it much easier to fry!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2000
well darling let me tell YOU.... i hate everything but these funnel cakes are to die for!!!! pAAAlease!!!! all that saturated fat and sugar...they're sure to put a ton o' love in your spare tire!!! bring the carnival home to you and immediately call a cardiovascular specialist you're gonna die for these cakes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
These came out a whole lot better than they did the first time I made them. I added a little nutmeg, vanilla extract, an extra tsp. of sugar, and more milk than the recipe called for. A zip lock bag was used to swirl the batter into the hot oil. I also scaled the recipe down to four servings and topped each with confectioner's sugar and cherry pie filling. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Great recipe... It's important to follow the directions and start with only half the flour, adding the rest a little at a time until you get the right consistency. It will probably end up too thick if you use the full amount of flour in the recipe. I don't have a funnel, so put the batter in a plastic bag and cut off the corner. I also used some of the batter to make fried Oreos (just dip the Oreos in the batter and fry). Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
We all LOVE funnel cake and, like most people, only get them at the shore, amusement parks, etc. - until now! My big sister used to make these for me when I was young, but she couldn't remember how so I once again looked to allrecipes for help. I was not disappointed! I took the advice of others and only used 2 2/3 c. flour. Ultimately, I used all but appr. 1/4 c. to achieve the right consistency. I also increased the sugar to appr. 1/2 c. (it just wasn't sweet enough for us) and added 1 t. vanilla. Excellent! Saved the left over batter for the next time we're having a craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I absolutely loved this! It tasted just like the funnel cakes at the amusement parks. I only gave it a 4 because I had to alter the recipe by adding less flour (about 1/2 cup) and more milk (a little more than a 1/3 cup). I also added a little more sugar and some vanilla extract. It was delicious! A measuring cup works great if you don't have a funnel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEXAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Good when you're feeling nostalgic...though I don't remember them being so crispy at Six Flags. Since making these I tried "Funnel Cakes I" from this site, and they were much more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Turned out great, we didn't have a funnel so cut out a corner of a zip lock bag and it worked out great. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Awesome- Exactly like at Canada's Wonderland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States