Funnel Cakes IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by LauraChristine
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This was excellent! I added some vanilla extract and a pinch of nutmeg and YUMMY! Make sure the oil is very hot, otherwise the batter won't brown right. I will be making this again..and again..and again lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraChristine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Just what I was looking for. I calculated the recipes to make 4 funnel cakes and still had enough to make 6. I added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLENA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Citronelle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montevallo, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I really debated between 4 and 5 stars on because I would definitely add more sugar in the actual batter, just because I don't like a lot of toppings and appreciate the cake itself for what it is. I don't think that this cake is quite sweet enough otherwise. Still it cooked up really nicely, was light, crunchy on the outside and fluffy inside. Not too oily or heavy! Made an ample amount of funnel cakes, I had enough to send some to a neighbor for breakfast as well. I'm really very pleased by this recipe, thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
These were delicious and brought back so many memories of amusement parks and carnivals from when I was young. It was a little difficult to get the right thickness and if I poured too fast, the funnel cake was very doughy and tough. Operator error, though. I just need more practice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Radgrl3256

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cerritos, California, USA
Living In: Bisbee, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
These turned out great! We didn't have a funnel but used a baggie with the corner cut. The kids just loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dvlwmn30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Byesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
These were really easy and fun to make. It DOES make quite a bit. Would have been fun for a party. I had so many that I gave almost half away to my neighbor. I tried the funnel method first then I decided to put the batter into an old squeeze bottle as suggested. The squeeze bottle worked much better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This is the first recipe that I have ever tried to make from Allrecipes, so when my husband and I looked at the ingredients we thought it wasn't going to be enough to fill the stomachs of 10 people, so we had doubled it. DO NOT DO WHAT WE DID! I wish I had cut the ingredients in half! I added a teaspoon of vanilla and added a little more sugar as some reviewers suggested. But, anyway, I tried this with a measuring cup, but came out too thick; then I found out I had a Funnel and used that. It worked very well, but I still have enough to make about another 20 cakes and I had already used about a liter of oil for it. Though almost everyone liked it, it did give us a stomach ache in the end. But this is a recipe that I would only make once in a while, and probably at a better time than midnight. It was delicious, but takes some time to master heating and pouring just the right amount into the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sushi4Majdi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
It's Fair Week and I drooled over their funnel cakes but decided to save money and make our own. This recipe is excellent. No changes other than adding a tablespoon or two of water to thin it out enough to flow through the funnel. We ate some with syrup which made them taste just like waffles. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I thought it was great as is. We preferred adding a little vanilla to it, though. But as written (cut to 4 servings) it was great as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Wonderful with added vanilla extract. I tried pouring the batter straight from the spout of the mixing bowl but got irregular fat areas. It worked out much better using a refillable squeeze bottle (opening about the size of a Q-tip head). So versatile because you can serve the cakes with any fresh fruit and whipped cream, preserve or just powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States