Funnel Cakes IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Awesome! Made it just today and love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
YUM! I've never made funnel cake before. This one turned out just like those at the beach. Crispy on the outside with just the right softness on the inside. I followed the directions exactly except for adding a little vanilla. I used whole milk - I'm not sure if that makes a huge difference or not since it's not specified what type but I know most of my baked goods come out better with whole milk. I also used canola oil which hopefully made it a little less unhealthy. It would be a 5 star without the vanilla but I like the addition of it. I used an empty lemon juice bottle to squirt it into the oil which worked really well. Make sure whatever you use has a big enough hole or else you'll wind up with really skinny strands which over crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Just like being at a carnival. I will use this recipe again and again. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Perfect consistency! I loved the flavor, not too sweet. The only thing I did differently was using cake flour instead of all purpose. Did some with cinnamon sugar and did some w/ powdered sugar. I even did some with a combination of both. Mmmmmm, just made us all feel we were back at the carnival! Nothing like bringing the flavors of the carnival home without the expense...LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
These were awesome. I cut the receipe down to 4 serving size and fried them in a small 8 inch fry pan with vegetable oil. I added a cap of vanilla to give a little extra flavor. I used a water bottle with a sip cap to pour. Family and neighbors loved them and were amazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDY LOU WHO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
it was just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I have been wanting a funnel cake for 2 years. After finding that we're going to miss our carnival again, I thought i' d see how hard it would be to make our own. It was so easy and they tasted awesome! I cut the recipe in half and it still made eight. Give it a try, you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
great recipe. They came out perfect. They aren't as sweet as the ones we get at the fair, but just sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
These are better then my favorite beignet shop down the street! So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I liked these funnel cakes! They were great and definitely something I would make again. They were crisp but chewy in all the right places. I dusted with powdered sugar and cinnamon sugar. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States