Funnel Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This tasted GREAT! However, I'm rating only 4 stars because the recipe requires unnecessary ingredients, namely baking soda and cream of tartar. I thought I would see if there was a noticeable difference in flavor and/or outcome with the combination of baking soda/cream of tartar as opposed to just baking powder. The cream of tartar (acid) is used to activate the baking soda (which requires an acid in order to activate). Baking powder would be easier/quicker to use and just as effective (so long as it's not expired) with equal if not better results(in my opinion). I added a splash of vanilla and a tiny drop of almond emulsion (flavor) to the batter for some extra flavor. Sifted powdered sugar on the entire funnel cake and served with cut strawberries and whipped cream. My family LOVES this quick, easy, yet tasty dessert. I made this for a diabetic friend once too - who loved it because it is made with very little sugar! TIPS: I find that sifting the flour. sugar, salt, and baking powder (or soda/tartar) together - and adding the milk/egg to the flour is best. The batter is very smooth. Also - I recommend using a cast iron skillet to fry as the iron maintains the heat/temp better than other pans when the cold batter is added to the hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
This really replicated that great "fair ground" taste!! I used an empty squeeze salad dressing bottle to pour the batter into the oil, and that worked really well--could even store my leftovers in it for the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELWEEDEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
Very good recipe. However, I did add a splash of vanilla extract to the batter, and it did take a little more milk than 1 cup in order to get it thin enough to pour into the classic funnel cake shape. This is good with the powdered sugar, or sprinkled with a cinnamon/sugar mixture. This recipe says that it serves ten, but it actually makes about 4 large funnel cakes, which in my house serves about 7 or 8 people. Just something to keep in mind when you are figuring how much to make :) All in all, a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
i loved this recipe! it was just what i was looking for! I made a few changes... i added a little bit more milk and also some cinnamon and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Lu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Rio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
DELICIOUS!!!!! This was fast and easy to put together-it made 2 large funnel cakes. The size you buy at fairs, amusement parks, Epcot.... We just topped with the powdered sugar, but plan to top with apple pie filling and cherry pie filling just like they prepare at Epcot. Can't wait to try it like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
FANTASTIC! Just like what you get at the fair! I didn't have a funnel so I cut the corner of a zip-lock bag after I poured in the batter. I found when making them to keep space as you drizzle so you do not get clumps. I used two spatulas to make turning them easier. When draining on a paper towel, be sure to dab the top or turn them over. I used Crisco oil as I feel it makes food less greasy. Thank you Sally for sharing this FANTASTIC recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This was very simple to do and tasted great! I used an old chocolate syrup bottle to squeeze the batter into the oil and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Over all I think this was a good recipe. Like the others I had to use more milk and more sugar. I also added a little cinnamon to kick it up a little and was happy with the result. I found using a squeeze bottle very helpful in cooking everything evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
These were so yummy! I had to add some more milk as the batter seemed rather thick. Even with the milk addition, the batter wouldn't go through the funnel, so I used the batter dispenser that comes with the "as seen on TV", pancake turner, flipper, maker thing. The cakes weren't as pretty, but just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Violet
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
So Yummy and easy to make! Not only did the kids love it but the adults we're in heaven too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States