Funnel Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
I found it a little thick to go through my funnel so i added a little water to thin it to the right consistency. Just like at the fairs now. wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
I will NEVER make this again. It tasted like a deep fried pancake NOTHING like a funnel cake at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This recipe taste amazing. Just like the ones at SixFlags
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
awwww...take me to the county fair!! Wonderful!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I used my largest funnel and the batter still wouldn't flow through, I finally had to pour it out from a measuring cup. I think it needed some more milk or less flour so that it would be thin enough to get it through the funnel. I first tried this recipe in a deep fryer but that was a big mistake, I ended up with little funnel pieces instead of cakes and it tasted like I was eating fish batter. The second time I tried it in a frying pan but maybe the oil wasn't hot enough because it came out flat like a pancake and the swirls of batter just blended together. The taste wasn't anything spectacular until I put a scoop of ice cream and caramel sauce on top - now that made it fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I added approx 1/2 cup more milk to batter. Good but not the best I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahiti, Archipel De La Société, French Polynesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
I use this recipe often, a requested snack in my household. I add a little bit of vanilla and more sugar to sweeten the taste. I highly recommend this recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
DELICIOUS!!!!! This was fast and easy to put together-it made 2 large funnel cakes. The size you buy at fairs, amusement parks, Epcot.... We just topped with the powdered sugar, but plan to top with apple pie filling and cherry pie filling just like they prepare at Epcot. Can't wait to try it like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
Very good recipe. However, I did add a splash of vanilla extract to the batter, and it did take a little more milk than 1 cup in order to get it thin enough to pour into the classic funnel cake shape. This is good with the powdered sugar, or sprinkled with a cinnamon/sugar mixture. This recipe says that it serves ten, but it actually makes about 4 large funnel cakes, which in my house serves about 7 or 8 people. Just something to keep in mind when you are figuring how much to make :) All in all, a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Just like at the fair! Scrumptous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States