Funnel Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Recently I bought a funnel cake mix at the grocery store, and it was so good I later craved another. All the stores were closed and my normally stocked kitchen was bare. This recipe stood up to a full list of substitutions - I used mayo instead of an egg, lemon juice instead of cream of tartar, and bisquick instead of flour. It was still lick your fingers tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FYRECRACKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This was very simple to do and tasted great! I used an old chocolate syrup bottle to squeeze the batter into the oil and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Good recipe. I've tried using almond extract and cinnamon in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
For all of those that can't have gluten--you've got to try this with gluten-free flour mix! (I used Bob's Red Mill). It will take you back to the county fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Very light texture, good flavor, but was too thick to use a funnel. My hubby said they tasted like Belgian waffles. This was the very same flavor and light and airy texture. This might be a great batter to try in my Belgian waffle iron. I did add about a half tsp. of vanilla to the batter. 4.5 stars for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I just had to try this as i never had Funnel cake,it was out of this world.!!! My hubby loved it.if you don't have a funnel,use a plastic ziplock.Snip opening so the batter will flow through nicely. Again this was yummie!!!Linda J.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I have made these for my husband and my nieghbors several times and so far everyone loves them...one of my nieghbors even passed on going to the fair because she was able to get funnel cakes at my house.....added extra vanilla and used unrefined sugar....turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I've made this many times, doubles well. My kids love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I thought the recipe was great, but also added more milk so that it would flow through a funnel. Although some people suggested using a large measuring cup or squeeze bottle, the funnel is what gives the cakes their inconsistent bumpy texture. That's what makes it a true funnel cake ... some parts are crispier other parts doughy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
My husband made these for the kids while I was out. They loved them. But it does make a lot so we will probably scale the recipe down next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States