Funnel Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Sooo good!!! Taste just like you got it at a fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Violet
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
So Yummy and easy to make! Not only did the kids love it but the adults we're in heaven too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Very good. I used 2 cups of milk and vanilla extract right off the bat because of the reviews and then found myself adding an extra cup of flour as the first batch didn't puff up right. Next time I will follow the recipe. I used an empty water bottle instead of a funnel which worked better for me and you can put the top on and store the rest for later. The vanilla gave a good taste but a bit unusual for what I'm used to so I will also not be adding that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This tasted GREAT! However, I'm rating only 4 stars because the recipe requires unnecessary ingredients, namely baking soda and cream of tartar. I thought I would see if there was a noticeable difference in flavor and/or outcome with the combination of baking soda/cream of tartar as opposed to just baking powder. The cream of tartar (acid) is used to activate the baking soda (which requires an acid in order to activate). Baking powder would be easier/quicker to use and just as effective (so long as it's not expired) with equal if not better results(in my opinion). I added a splash of vanilla and a tiny drop of almond emulsion (flavor) to the batter for some extra flavor. Sifted powdered sugar on the entire funnel cake and served with cut strawberries and whipped cream. My family LOVES this quick, easy, yet tasty dessert. I made this for a diabetic friend once too - who loved it because it is made with very little sugar! TIPS: I find that sifting the flour. sugar, salt, and baking powder (or soda/tartar) together - and adding the milk/egg to the flour is best. The batter is very smooth. Also - I recommend using a cast iron skillet to fry as the iron maintains the heat/temp better than other pans when the cold batter is added to the hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
The best funnel cake ever! Easy. Family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I picked up a tip somewhere about using a clean and empty salad dressing bottle to pour the batter into the hot oil (it has to be the ones with the easy pour hole on the top). I also added a little bit of vanilla, and the result was beyond my expectations. We make this up whenever we entertain and serve it with fresh strawberries and icecream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lebrun family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Good recipe. Would recommend Almond extract though. It makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
These were good, though they just weren't quite what I'm used to...I can't quite put my finger on what it is. I prefered Funnel Cakes IV from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaraAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Recently I bought a funnel cake mix at the grocery store, and it was so good I later craved another. All the stores were closed and my normally stocked kitchen was bare. This recipe stood up to a full list of substitutions - I used mayo instead of an egg, lemon juice instead of cream of tartar, and bisquick instead of flour. It was still lick your fingers tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FYRECRACKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This was very simple to do and tasted great! I used an old chocolate syrup bottle to squeeze the batter into the oil and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States