Funnel Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This recipe took me right back to the kitchen in Pennsylvania, making up a batch of funnel cakes with my mom! I can't remember the last time I made these, and my son certainly didn't remember us making them at home before, so it was quite a treat for us both! As others have mentioned, it was too thick as written and I did add a little more milk to get that good manageable consistency so it would pour well through the funnel. I got my oil nice and hot, I used a large non stick skillet with about 1/2" of oil in the bottom and I used my large funnel to pour the batter in large circular motions. My son thought that was pretty cool! Flipping is always a little scary, but I managed (using a LARGE spatula)without too much splattering! Since we had these for dessert, we thought we'd follow a comment I'd read and added a scoop of icecream and some strawberry topping, and that was WAY overboard in the sweet and sugar department... ugh... the cakes are fantastic just as they are with a light powdered sugar dusting and when we make these again I won't add anything else. They were really, really good - the texture was perfect, a little bit of crunch mixed with the light spongy cake with just the right amount of sweet from the powdered sugar. This is a great recipe! I made 3 large funnel cakes using half the recipe amount which was perfect for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Very nice! Not too sweet, not to oily, just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joefarmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Sooo good!!! Taste just like you got it at a fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Violet
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
So Yummy and easy to make! Not only did the kids love it but the adults we're in heaven too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Very good. I used 2 cups of milk and vanilla extract right off the bat because of the reviews and then found myself adding an extra cup of flour as the first batch didn't puff up right. Next time I will follow the recipe. I used an empty water bottle instead of a funnel which worked better for me and you can put the top on and store the rest for later. The vanilla gave a good taste but a bit unusual for what I'm used to so I will also not be adding that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This tasted GREAT! However, I'm rating only 4 stars because the recipe requires unnecessary ingredients, namely baking soda and cream of tartar. I thought I would see if there was a noticeable difference in flavor and/or outcome with the combination of baking soda/cream of tartar as opposed to just baking powder. The cream of tartar (acid) is used to activate the baking soda (which requires an acid in order to activate). Baking powder would be easier/quicker to use and just as effective (so long as it's not expired) with equal if not better results(in my opinion). I added a splash of vanilla and a tiny drop of almond emulsion (flavor) to the batter for some extra flavor. Sifted powdered sugar on the entire funnel cake and served with cut strawberries and whipped cream. My family LOVES this quick, easy, yet tasty dessert. I made this for a diabetic friend once too - who loved it because it is made with very little sugar! TIPS: I find that sifting the flour. sugar, salt, and baking powder (or soda/tartar) together - and adding the milk/egg to the flour is best. The batter is very smooth. Also - I recommend using a cast iron skillet to fry as the iron maintains the heat/temp better than other pans when the cold batter is added to the hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
The best funnel cake ever! Easy. Family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I picked up a tip somewhere about using a clean and empty salad dressing bottle to pour the batter into the hot oil (it has to be the ones with the easy pour hole on the top). I also added a little bit of vanilla, and the result was beyond my expectations. We make this up whenever we entertain and serve it with fresh strawberries and icecream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lebrun family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Good recipe. Would recommend Almond extract though. It makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
These were good, though they just weren't quite what I'm used to...I can't quite put my finger on what it is. I prefered Funnel Cakes IV from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaraAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States