Funnel Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
These were AWESOME but I have to admit I added 1/2 cup sugar and 1 tsp of vanilla after reading reviews first. The recipe gave us 4 good size cakes that we sprinkled powdered sugar. I put the batter in a giant zip bag and cut tiny hole in corner to use for a funnel. I only made one the first night and the rest this evening. They taste even better. I ran out of veg oil so used a combo of olive oil and peanut oil(yes we were desperate for a funnel cake fix as are town is having a two week festival, LOL). The batter kept up perfect. Today i added some sliced peaches that had been soaking in sugar. MMmmmm YUMMYYYYYY!!!!!!!!! Just wish i had some vanilla ice cream LOL! A MUST TRY!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made this yesterday for my very picky mother who was craving carnival food. I've tried a few other funnel cake recipes, and all were okay, but this one was really really good. My batter came out a bit runny, but I had used extra large eggs, so I added another 1/4 cup of flour and it was perfect. Per other reviewers suggestions, I added about 2 tablespoons of sugar and a dash of vanilla. It was absolutely perfect. In fact, she has requested that I make them again today! Thanks for such a simple and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
You can get the funnel cake sundae at Six Flags Great America for 9 dollars or you can make these, sprinkle with powdered sugar, scoop of vanilla icecream on top of the warm funnel cake and drizzle with Hershey's chocolate syrup. Tastes just the same. Yummy! We made 4 homemade funnelcake sundaes, it was too much for a family of 4 and we couldn't finish it. No need to double the recipe if you make the sundaes. I did add 1tbsp sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla as suggested by others. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Making these was hilarious fun. My kids loved them. The only problem was the recipe just didn't make enough! Next time I'll double it for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Even better than carnival funnel cakes. Added fruit along with the powdered sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
The batter was rather bland for my taste. You'll need to add some vanilla and sugar for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
We added 1 tsp of vanilla and 2 TBSP of sugar and this came out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
wow, i made this and half of it was gone before i was done. Bad idea to make them before dinner,but i also have some tips.Like everyone else is saying add vanilla it could make a huge difference. what i did was use and old ketchup bottle(washed, of coarse). depending on the size of the hole they might break up when you squeeze some into the oil, but all you have to do is get a spatula and pull it together. when i served it i put vanilla ice cream ontop with the strawberry syrup on this website. and dont worry if you have little bits inthe end just use it as a topping on ice cream, good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
great, easy and quick! my kids loved it! since I'm a diabetic, I try to avoid sugar, so I ate my funnel cake without the sugar. And they taste just fine! We thought it looked like spooky brains! Great Halloween treat *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Van de Moortele

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
WOW! This recipe is just like at the fair! My kids and I devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States