Funnel Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Wow. I think I've had one funnel cake in my whole life because I can't see myself paying five bucks for one, and I'm not sure I even bought it. I just paid roughly 50 cents to make one for me and one for my wife and it was better than the one at the fair. AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was exactly what I was looking for. I cut the recipe in half and added 1/8 cup sugar and 1 tsp of vanilla. I recently moved and couldn't find my funnel or my thermometer so I put about 1/2 to 3/4 cup in baggies and snipped the ends. I heated the oil on med-high heat and they turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginnybaby19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
My daughter ask me what I was going to make. She ended up making them. We also added sugar and vanilla to the batter. My husband asked for more. We put apple pie filling and cool whip on the top. Yum! I never had a funnel cake before, Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I think this recipe is great. I too added 1 tspn of the vanilla extract and its very yummy. I make it all the time for my husband and now I dont have to wait for the carnival... :) Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Delicious! Tasted just like I remember from the fair. We all got a little queasy after eating some. Nobody finished theirs. They are just very, very rich, but that's to be expected. So, these are yummy, but not for faint stomachs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I don't know where I went wrong but the were not crispy at all but, the taset was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bamelc0402

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
These were AWESOME but I have to admit I added 1/2 cup sugar and 1 tsp of vanilla after reading reviews first. The recipe gave us 4 good size cakes that we sprinkled powdered sugar. I put the batter in a giant zip bag and cut tiny hole in corner to use for a funnel. I only made one the first night and the rest this evening. They taste even better. I ran out of veg oil so used a combo of olive oil and peanut oil(yes we were desperate for a funnel cake fix as are town is having a two week festival, LOL). The batter kept up perfect. Today i added some sliced peaches that had been soaking in sugar. MMmmmm YUMMYYYYYY!!!!!!!!! Just wish i had some vanilla ice cream LOL! A MUST TRY!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made this yesterday for my very picky mother who was craving carnival food. I've tried a few other funnel cake recipes, and all were okay, but this one was really really good. My batter came out a bit runny, but I had used extra large eggs, so I added another 1/4 cup of flour and it was perfect. Per other reviewers suggestions, I added about 2 tablespoons of sugar and a dash of vanilla. It was absolutely perfect. In fact, she has requested that I make them again today! Thanks for such a simple and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
You can get the funnel cake sundae at Six Flags Great America for 9 dollars or you can make these, sprinkle with powdered sugar, scoop of vanilla icecream on top of the warm funnel cake and drizzle with Hershey's chocolate syrup. Tastes just the same. Yummy! We made 4 homemade funnelcake sundaes, it was too much for a family of 4 and we couldn't finish it. No need to double the recipe if you make the sundaes. I did add 1tbsp sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla as suggested by others. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Making these was hilarious fun. My kids loved them. The only problem was the recipe just didn't make enough! Next time I'll double it for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States