Funnel Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
They are so messy to clean up after, but over all it is worth it! They are amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This was very easy to follow. I don't have a deep fryer, so I used a cast iron skillet. I also used a plastic keptch squeeze bottle which worked perfect. I also did not have a a thermonater, I just heated the oil, dropped a small amount of batter in until it bubbled up and floated to the top. Then went ahead and made them. I made mine the size of a saucer, much easier to handle. Great receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
My whole family raved about these funnel cakes! Soft & chewy with just the right amount of crispiness on the edges. I added 1/4 cup sugar & 1 tsp of vanilla to the batter as others suggested, using an empty ketchup bottle for easy pouring. Not that these need any additional fat but for authenticity, I brushed on a bit of melted butter before sprinkling them with powdered sugar & cinnamon....better than ANY I've had at the fair! AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arellys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I tried these for the very first time and took the advice of the reviews, namely adding 1/3 cup of sugar and 1 tsp of pure vanilla extract. Wow, had a funnel that wasn't as large as I was hoping but heck it did the job and I got really artistic swirling and making these amazing objects and guess what after sprinkling them with icing sugar they looked phenomenal and the boys arrived and they're all gone! So if you haven't tried these yet, now's the time to show off your culinary and artistic skills! Thank you for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Love this perfect receipe. I did add 1/3c sugar and 1tsp vanilla for my own taste preference but they were AWESOME...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILEANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Delicious! I made these last night and me and my mom loved them. I'm actually making them again right now and I added sugar and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I didn't have to be as meticulous in the preperation as was directed here. I didn't use a blender, I just whisked it up pretty good with a fork. The lightest, fluffiest funnel cakes ever! We sprinkled them with powdered sugar and fresh sliced strawberries. Can't beat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
FANTASTIC! Tastes just like the ones you get for $10 at the fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
They were good, it was bit messy to make though. Be really careful with your oil make sure you don't get it to hot because then your sweet sweet delicious funnel cakes with be burnt. Which is a same. Unless you like crunchy burnt ones :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
perfect batter, not too sweet so you couldn't add all the toppings you want but sweet enough to eat by itself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States