Funnel Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
It took a while to get the hang of getting the funnel cakes to look right. I ended up using a large pastry bag and it worked better than the funnel. They tasted good and the kids loved dusting them with powdered sugar. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
These were great. The batter was fine without adding more liquid. The only thing I did different was to add a little cinnamon. My family devoured them! Ü
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYNDEELYNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Yummy. I agree with the vanilla user. Also, you can use a squeeze bottle (like ketchup bottle) for dispesing in the oil. Great snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
THESE WERE OK. MY SON LIKED THEM. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Excellent! Tasted just like funnel cake I had when I was a kid. It was a little hard to get it to come out of the funnel fast enough (even when I thinned the batter), but maybe my funnel was too small. So I put it in a pastery bag, held my finger over the tip to keep the batter from running out until I was ready, then squeezed it into the hot oil in a circular motion. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
We love this recipe. Shoot the fair's here charge between five and six dollars a piece. My six year old grandaughter wanted these for her birthday party so we made up some big batches. She had 50 kids. We did use the orginal recipe and like another reviewer suggested used vanilla extract in half the batch. Both adults and kids gobbled up the orginal as I think the vanilla added with the powdered sugar made it just a little to sweet. I also don't have a funnel or pastry bag, so I put batter in a zip lock bag and cut the bottom corner edge. Turned out great. Now we don't have to wait for the fair to come to town. Thanks for such a great post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Awesome! I added just a little sugar and vanilla to the batter. The first one I made turned out like a weird pancake - it's really important that the oil is hot enough before you start pouring the batter in! Also, give the oil time to reheat to the right temp between cakes. The second one was perfect. I could actually feel my cholesterol going up with each bite! My hubby, who had never had funnel cake, RAVED about it! I cut the recipe back to 6 servings and it made two HUGE cakes. Next time I will cut back to 3 servings and top it with choc sauce and whipped cream! *drool*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
OMG! I only made half of the batch. I added about 1 teaspoon vanilla and about 1/4 cup sugar to the batter. I don't have a kitchen funnel so I used a ziploc bag with a corner cut off. These were awesome, really simple to make, quick to fry...delicious...what else? They are just great. I used two spatulas to flip them over. Whatever you use to flip them make sure you grab them in the middle because the corners will be crispier and break off easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
We really liked this recipe. I added some sugar and some vanilla extract, just like the fair. yummy. I didn't have a funnel so I cut the corner out of a sandwich bag, it worked good. Thanks for the recipe now I don't have to wait all year for the fair to get a good funnel cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livingston, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
these were great!! Made these for my husband who has never even heard of funnel cakes befor ... spent the night telling him about the Indiana State Fair and reliving old memories. Its a great fast treat. Just wish i could figure out how to make the batter a bit sweet without messing up the whole recipie . Will fiddle around but will make this often. Thanks for the recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Moses-Siderer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States