Funnel Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
What a great snack on a rainy night and fun to make. My boys loved it and said it tasted just like a carnival funnel cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
The recipe used too much salt. I would halve it next time. At first, I thought that it was just me, but everyone was telling me that it tasted a little salty. We tried to cover it up with tons of confectioner's sugar though. Besides that, it seemed perfect. I used a ziploc bag, I cut the hole a tad too big but found a way to make it work. Will use again...with less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I have been makeing this recipe for my girls for a few years now and They Love it, they are always wanting me to make it. They now are grown and have children of their own. Now I make double batches everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Great recipe. Way cheaper to make at home than buying at a carnival or restaurant. These tasted great with some strawberry topping and vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinity's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
It took a while to get the hang of getting the funnel cakes to look right. I ended up using a large pastry bag and it worked better than the funnel. They tasted good and the kids loved dusting them with powdered sugar. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
These were great. The batter was fine without adding more liquid. The only thing I did different was to add a little cinnamon. My family devoured them! Ü
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYNDEELYNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Yummy. I agree with the vanilla user. Also, you can use a squeeze bottle (like ketchup bottle) for dispesing in the oil. Great snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
THESE WERE OK. MY SON LIKED THEM. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Excellent! Tasted just like funnel cake I had when I was a kid. It was a little hard to get it to come out of the funnel fast enough (even when I thinned the batter), but maybe my funnel was too small. So I put it in a pastery bag, held my finger over the tip to keep the batter from running out until I was ready, then squeezed it into the hot oil in a circular motion. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
We love this recipe. Shoot the fair's here charge between five and six dollars a piece. My six year old grandaughter wanted these for her birthday party so we made up some big batches. She had 50 kids. We did use the orginal recipe and like another reviewer suggested used vanilla extract in half the batch. Both adults and kids gobbled up the orginal as I think the vanilla added with the powdered sugar made it just a little to sweet. I also don't have a funnel or pastry bag, so I put batter in a zip lock bag and cut the bottom corner edge. Turned out great. Now we don't have to wait for the fair to come to town. Thanks for such a great post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States