Funnel Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Wonderful recipe. I haven't eaten funnel cake in ages and they are so expensive to buy...almost 5-6 dollars for one. But these were so easy to make, the only changes I made was instead of normal milk I used a vanilla flavoured milk and added some grated nutmeg to the batter. Was just wonderful with the sprinkled confectioners' sugar. Thanks for the quick, inexpensive and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Made these for New Years Eve and they were a complete hit! These turn out JUST like the ones you get at the Fair. Top with powedered sugar and Strawberry Comstock. Be careful NOT to over fry them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamthevintagelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poway, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
it's a great recipe! the only problem i'm having is as soon as the batter hits the oil..it goes straight to the bottom of the pan, so i stir it..the batter sticks to the spatula then all the batter breaks up into little balls - i don't know what i'm doing wrong...after a few min, everything tunrs brown and we have mini balls of fyred dough...not exactly what we expected.. i must say i does taste like funnel cake...just doesn't look like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
A very good recipe. I have seen that some have used ziploc bags but we used an old mustard bottle and it worked perfectly! plus it is a good container to refrigerate any leftover you may have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Awesome resipe and easy to make. I added a few teaspoons of sugar to the batter for a little added sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROWNSKYNLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
What a great snack on a rainy night and fun to make. My boys loved it and said it tasted just like a carnival funnel cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
The recipe used too much salt. I would halve it next time. At first, I thought that it was just me, but everyone was telling me that it tasted a little salty. We tried to cover it up with tons of confectioner's sugar though. Besides that, it seemed perfect. I used a ziploc bag, I cut the hole a tad too big but found a way to make it work. Will use again...with less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I have been makeing this recipe for my girls for a few years now and They Love it, they are always wanting me to make it. They now are grown and have children of their own. Now I make double batches everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Great recipe. Way cheaper to make at home than buying at a carnival or restaurant. These tasted great with some strawberry topping and vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinity's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
It took a while to get the hang of getting the funnel cakes to look right. I ended up using a large pastry bag and it worked better than the funnel. They tasted good and the kids loved dusting them with powdered sugar. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States