Funnel Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
score! this recipe is simplicity at it's best. i too used a candy thermometer to measure oil heat, and it was around 300 degrees when i cooked the cakes. they seemed to hold a lot of oil like RBARTON70 mentioned, so will make the oil hotter next time and see if that fixes it. very tasty treat =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This was a great!!! The kids loved these and they were so easy to make i will never buy them again lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
THis recipe is good. ANd very budget friendly, you can make a batch of these compared to what they charge for one at the fair. next time i will add some sugar to the batter though, to make it sweeter, but other than that, it was a hit with everyone, I added cherry pie filling to the top & powder sugar. yum~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
What a fun family activity and at a minimum cost! And we don't have to wait for the State Fair! It got to the point where the kids were making letters to spell their names! Used a large mouth funnel for safety. Lined the countertop with waxed paper for easy cleanup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coronado, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I had a craving for funnel cake and found this recipe. Unfortunately, I didn't have any baking powder so I decided to use self rising flour since flour, baking powder and salt= SRF. I added some sugar to the batter and topped with cinnamon and sugar. It was very good. I'm sure it was because of the self rising flour but it didn't get "puffy" like it should have. Oh well, it still tasted like the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Saint Maries, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Really good after I added a tsp of vanilla and 2 Tbls sugar to the batter. Sprinkled with powdered sugar and added some well-defrosted strawberries (with their juices & sugar) ...topped them off with Redi Whip! YUM! So, so filling...so make a light dinner if you're having these for dessert. The kids love to help with this one!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
i loved this recipe. they was so easy to make and good too,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Wonderful recipe. I haven't eaten funnel cake in ages and they are so expensive to buy...almost 5-6 dollars for one. But these were so easy to make, the only changes I made was instead of normal milk I used a vanilla flavoured milk and added some grated nutmeg to the batter. Was just wonderful with the sprinkled confectioners' sugar. Thanks for the quick, inexpensive and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Made these for New Years Eve and they were a complete hit! These turn out JUST like the ones you get at the Fair. Top with powedered sugar and Strawberry Comstock. Be careful NOT to over fry them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamthevintagelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poway, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
it's a great recipe! the only problem i'm having is as soon as the batter hits the oil..it goes straight to the bottom of the pan, so i stir it..the batter sticks to the spatula then all the batter breaks up into little balls - i don't know what i'm doing wrong...after a few min, everything tunrs brown and we have mini balls of fyred dough...not exactly what we expected.. i must say i does taste like funnel cake...just doesn't look like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States