Funky Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was a little bland and on the dry side. Adding sour cream and salsa helped a lot. I doubled the taco seasoning and know that was a good move. Next time I will mix the cheese into the casserole instead of putting it only on top. I will also salt the chicken before cooking it. Everyone did really like it, we just needed a little salt and moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Hubs and I really liked this. Wasn't completely sure about it, but it sounded intriguing, and sometimes I just like to try something out of the ordinary. I tried the crunchy tostada/chip idea as a base instead of the tortillas; used multigrain tortilla chips and just crumbled them in the bottom of the pan. I added a bit of salsa on top, then carried on with the recipe until I realized I didn't have corn or pepperjack cheese, or even cheddar cheese. The corn I just left out; for the cheese I used mozzarella. I layered a bit to keep it together. I really liked the results; it is kind of like a hybrid taco salad or something and we loved it with just a topping of diced fresh tomatoes. It's a bit crumbly to serve--maybe refried beans could be used as a binder or something, but it is tasty and relatively easy. I will keep this to make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I gave this 4 stars, due to a few crucial modifications. I brushed the bottom of a SS pan with olive oil and placed restaurant style corn chips around the edges and covering the bottom. Used ground beef, seasoned with cumin, chili powder, cayenne, on the first layer. Topped it with 2/3 veggie/bean mixture and added about 1/2 c thick salsa (I use Chi Chi) spread thinly along with about 1/2 cup of the cheese. I added a 2nd layer of tortilla chips, topping it with the rest of the veggie/bean mix and added sliced green olives, then topped with with the rest of the cheese. Baked as directed. Trick is to let it "rest" before you cut it. It was cohesive enough to hold it's shape, but not soggy from too much salsa. The chips stayed crunchy and I cannot wait to have it for lunch tomorrow. All in all a good base for your creative individualism. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANTIH9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
So YUM! I used ground turkey, made my own taco seasoning (less sodium) reduced the cumin and skipped the cilantro. I layered this like a lasagna using enchilada sauce on the bottom and between the layers. I can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch today! Thank you Anne!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I worried about the falling apart, but the cheese held it together fine. I used colby jack. I sprayed the dish and let it sit as I made it early. I think the juices made the corn tortillas soft (I only had 8) I also threw in a chopped tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I substituted corn chips instead of tortillas and added a can of enchilada sauce after reading the reviews. The chips ended up being soggy. Next time I will add them only on the top just before adding the cheese or not at all and just serve the chips on the side. Overall the flavor was great and I loved how much fresh veggies are in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is good to use with pantry/on hand ingredients. I used only one can of organic black beans and omitted the kidney beans. I used my own homemade taco seasoning. I also used a corn-flour tortilla blend. This was super easy to throw together though it wasn't a huge hit, which was a surprize. It was quite dry. I think had I been thinking, I'd have added in some homemade enchilada sauce. This would make a good nacho topping. Just when it's baked, it's just....dry. I made my own casa (mexican sour cream) dressing over the top which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very good and easy to make. The spice was very nice and the veggies were just right. Much better than the other enchilada casseroles that use the cream of chicken/mushroom/etc soups. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
My picky husband hates corn tortillas and he ate this twice. We don't eat black beans but I did add the refried beans like someone else had said. I didn't have the cheese they asked for but my family prefer cheddar cheese. It was soo good. Next time I will probably add some green chilies for some heat. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Dan loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedalia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States