Funeral Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I'd compare this recipe to apple pie but take out the apples & substitute for raisins. I made this for friends/family & the verdict was across the board ... not good! Even my husband, who eats practically anything, took one bite & was done. :o( I had high hopes! I think people couldn't get past the texture. ?? Goood luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbbyMP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
it was okay... too sweet, next time will add less sugar! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
i've made this several times, always using two ready-made pie crusts, otherwise exact to the recipe. It is AWESOME! so yummy, very comfort food, I make it for thanksgiving and its always gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
"Funeral pie" is a recipe that mainstream American cookbooks have featured for years (I have several 1930s cookbooks that feature it). Its reputation as a pie for mourners is well-established, but as for its Amish origin, I've never heard such a claim made. Even if this recipe can't be appreciated as Amish, it's an old American classic -- and I think everyone can appreciate THAT! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
A lot of yummy, wonderful, sugary calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I substituted dried fruit medaly (Australian) with dried apple apricot peaches sultanas etc. Definately a keeper. Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
The pie didn't 'gel' even with extra corn flour and the flavour was a bit iffy. This is not a recipe I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This was very good. Made for my mother who loves raisins. I don't care for them in quite such abundance (don't care for mincemeat, either). I made this twice. Once as-is (I think every recipe deserves that), and once modifying it so that it appealed to other family members who wanted something less "mince meat like." I stirred in 1/2 cup of pecans in place of 1/2 cup of raisins, and, I stirred in 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. The end result was something like a "Chunky Raisin Pecan Candy Bar." The menfolk much preferred this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This was delicious, like a sweeter, subtler version of mincemeat pie. Everyone in the family liked it, but we did change the name to "Amish Raisin Pie" because "Funeral Pie" was a little morbid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
i havent gotten to taste this pie yet because i made it for me and my boyfriend, and i dont see him for another day. but i baked it this evening and it looks and smells wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States