Funco's Salmon Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jerry Fogarty
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
It's a wonderful recipe. Very very tasty. Loved them but might add a little extra moisture next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry Fogarty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Took me longer to make and really messy clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
These were very good. I used canned salmon as it's what I had. I'm sure if I had followed the recipe exactly and used fresh fish it would have rated a five, so that's what I gave it. Thanks for an easy and yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This recipe is good. I like all the ingredients but I found I had to dip the patties in beaten egg and then in the bread crumbs so they would stay together when frying. I used a combination of Panko bread crumbs, corn flake crumbs and home made bread crumbs and it worked very well. Oh, and I used my own canned fish instead of cooking the fish fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB COUNTRYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Very good! They could have used more seasoning but we still enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Wonderful!! I used a mix of my canned salmon and smoked salmon and added a tablespoon of capers. Topped with my smoked salmon cream cheese, fresh spinach, and poached eggs, it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
SO GOOD!!! I made these for my 7-yr old grandson & he ate FOUR (& he's not that big an eater)! He loved them! I served them with sour cream mixed with a little dill pickle juice, dill weed and Old Bay. I made 1/2 recipe (10 cakes). I used panko & roasted red instead of green pepper. I couldn't really taste the pepper so I'll make sure I have green for the next go. I mixed the potato & egg together before adding the veg &, next time, I'll also mix the veg well before I add it to the potato/egg. I found that *folding* the veg/potato mix into the salmon worked well. About 10 folds & it was ready. I molded the cakes into a 1/4 cup measuring cup & gave the cup a good "thunk" to get the cake to release. Even though I gave it 5 stars, I think I'll halve the amount of potato next time & add another egg. I could taste the mash more than I wanted (too much I thought) & another egg might help hold them together better. Also, I will start each batch with fresh butter & oil. I used olive oil. I found with the second batch that, even though I added some more butter & oil, the original butter had browned to a point where the second batch came out pretty dark. I also used (go ahead purists, shoot me) canned Alaskan wild salmon. I use Costco's Kirkland brand. It is 90% as good as poaching fresh and I doubt if fresh would make a difference (Kirkland is a completely different canned salmon than anything you'd get in a grocery store). I think whitefish or crab would work here too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by StyreneOxide
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This recipe was amazing! I didn't have celery or peppers, but next time I make these I will definitely include them! I am a poor college student so I only used 2 (4 oz salmon fillets) with the rest of the ingredients the same. I made 5 patties. I fried them in butter/olive oil. The sauce is a homemade dill sauce (mayo, milk, mustard, fresh dill, garlic powder, crushed red pepper, salt, and pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StyreneOxide
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
great taste and texture. I used part salmon and part tuna, but the result was fabulous. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Delicious! Added parmesan cheese to the mixture and reduced the amount of onions. I think I will add a little more seasoning for the next batch, but otherwise they were great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States