Fun Cookie Suckers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Overall, I really enjoyed making these cookies. I didn't get 24 cookies though. I think maybe I made mine a little too large. Even so, it's definitely a recipe I will try again. It is a little labour intensive, so I think because of that reason, I would do this again in a big batch. Meaning I would probably make four batches, colouring each batch a different colour in my mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was a super fun activity to do with kids, I followed the recipe exact, and they are not super sweet, but still good. I might add 1/4 C. more sugar next time. Also there is no need to roll the individual colors into balls first, I just made a rough rectangle with each color and cut it into 24 even pieces and it worked great and saved some time! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANJACKSON
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
SO CUTE!! These get 5 for appearance, 3.5 to 4 for taste (I kept recipe as is, not adding any more sugar as others mentioned)! I have wanted to make them for quite some time & my oldest son was having a cookie exchange in his class for Valentine's this year, so it was the perfect occasion! Here is what I did that might help anyone making for the first time, I know it will make it easier for me the next time! First, I only did 3 colours (per my pic), used pink, red and left one ball of dough as uncoloured. I separated & coloured my balls of dough, then refrigerated until that evening when the kiddies were in bed. I then made 24 mini balls out of each colour, working in batches as the dough softens quickly. Once I had all of my min balls, I took one of each colour and instead of rolling all together, kind of joined or meshed them as I wanted my colours separate and not tie-dyed looking. Once each colour was 'joined', I gently rolled into a snake and coiled. I did this for all 24 & kept refrigerating once coils were done. I found it much easier to insert my sticks into the cold dough, as opposed to into the softened dough. I ruined a few as I thought you pressed the sticks in & the dough would cook around them. DON'T DO THIS! Physically insert from the bottom of the cookie so that the stick is right through it! I hope that these few tips help...it will make it much quicker for me the next time! I think they looked FANTASTIC all in baggies, tied with ribbon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I luv it so much i made it for all my classes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M. Goldman
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
These came out cute. They weren't the pain to make that some users said. I also thought that 1 c. of sugar was not going to be enough so I increased to 1 1/2 c. They were good. I'd also advise to be wary of where you place the stick, because nearly all of mine fell out the back. Place them more in the top half of the cookie's height since they will expand upwards anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Goldman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
These were so much to make! The kids at the after school program I work for loved this project. They were really tasty too. The only thing I had trouble with was knowing when they were done. I checked on them at the suggested time and they didn't look done, but then I overcooked them. I think if you cook them for as long as the recipe states, you should be fine. They harden when they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
5 stars for cuteness, 4 for taste after some modifications and 3 stars for the final product. I am so disappointed that my batch did not turn out the way that I hoped they would, but I will try them again sometime. First of all, they are cute as a button and kind of fun to make. For the dough, I added 1/4 cup of extra sugar and 1/2 tsp of almond extract as others have recommended. The dough was tasty and the finished cookie tasted like a spritz cookie. MAKE SURE TO NOT MAKE YOUR DOUGH BALLS TOO BIG OR THE ROPES TOO FAT! This was my mistake. Others have said that these cookies expand a lot. They at least double in size, so stick your lollipop stick way far in the cookie. My cookies are too soft and way too big and heavy for the sticks they are on. They are still cooling, but I am quite sure that they will not be able to be eaten as suckers. So sad ... I was making them for a church fundraiser, so I'm sure that I won't be able to bring them. Live and learn, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
They were pretty, but weren't sweet/flavorful enough for my family. Next time I will add lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Kids like making these, especially the coloring and rolling, but they do lack flavor or sugariness, as the recipe is written. Maybe some large grain sugar sprinkles on top would do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
AWESOME! These cookies not only tasted great, they were fun to make. I rolled three logs, placed them side by side, and twisted them; then, I rolled one log with the twisted colors. Thank you Christine M for that suggestion. I only got seven cookies from the recipe so they were bigger than called for. Therefore, I baked them 10-12 minutes. Because some reviewers stated they needed more sugar, I then pressed the cookie into sugar crystals and attached the stick. I used Wilton's "cookie sticks" because lollipop sticks would be too thin. Thank you Terri for sharing such an AWESOME FUN RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make a Cookie Bouquet

Say it with flowers--edible cookie flowers you make yourself!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States