Fun Cookie Suckers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
AWESOME! These cookies not only tasted great, they were fun to make. I rolled three logs, placed them side by side, and twisted them; then, I rolled one log with the twisted colors. Thank you Christine M for that suggestion. I only got seven cookies from the recipe so they were bigger than called for. Therefore, I baked them 10-12 minutes. Because some reviewers stated they needed more sugar, I then pressed the cookie into sugar crystals and attached the stick. I used Wilton's "cookie sticks" because lollipop sticks would be too thin. Thank you Terri for sharing such an AWESOME FUN RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
These were a big hit at my daughters school for halloween. Some fell off the sticks because I dont think I attached them properly but they were very cute and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
These were so pretty! I added about 1/3 cup of sugar. I also put my hands in flour each time before I rolled these out. The dough was too sticky if I didn't. I baked these for about 6 or 7 minutes, but I think I made mine smaller than the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimq_33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Madison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Eaton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I have four kids and babysit six more on the weekends. I was looking for something different and this was it. I followed the recipe exactly and they were so much fun. We have made them four times now and each time get more creative. My older two roll each color out in a snake, lay them side by side then roll them together gently like a snake then coil to get the alternate colors throughout the entire cookie. They really come out beautiful. The younger ones just take a bit of each color lay them end to end then roll out the snake and coil. After four batches of dough yesterday and tons of cookies later, I was getting tired. They went to bed and I rolled each remaining color into a log, put them together and put them in my cookie press. I put it in the freezer to chill while we did the bedtime routine afterwards. I just pressed them out and baked them in flower shapes, they came out great too and very colorful. They all love them and we will continue to make these. Great idea, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aspaisley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
These are a little labor intensive, but the outcome is worth it. I made these as a treat for some of my second graders - they'd earned a reading reward. I rolled the chilled dough on a silicone mat which made the job much easier. I also chilled the formed coils for about 5 minutes before inserting the sticks. They were a big hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
What a fun recipe to make with my three year old! We made these for her older brother's Halloween Party at school... A suggestion: a lot of people said they felt the cookies weren't sweet enough. Rather than add more sugar, when I added the color and shaped the cookies I used confectioners sugar to keep the dough from sticking to my hands. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Easy and very pretty! I used 1/2 tsp. orange extract and 1/2 tsp. vanilla, but otherwise followed recipe exactly. Took me a few to get the hang of it, but if you twist the log before rolling into the cookie (like you would a candy cane type thing) I think the end result is very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Thank you very mutch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrismother
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
These are so cute! It's like you are really playing with Play Doh. I really recommend using the paste that the recipe calls for so you get the deep color without using a ton of food coloring. After I halved each color I halved them again and pre-rolled the first 6 balls of each color so I could ensure I'd have enough of each color for each cookie. I, at first, tried to the first 12 but they started to dry out. Once I got my rope formed I started forming the inside coil. After three loops I took the tail end of the rope and wrapped it around the coil. I found a bag of 100 6" sticks at Michaels and 100 baggies with ties that fit perfectly on the cookie. They also have a ton of different individual colored pastes to choose from. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
you could make them flower shaped and stick them in cupcakes with green icing and it would be flowers in a pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingkid

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make a Cookie Bouquet

Say it with flowers--edible cookie flowers you make yourself!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States