Fun Cookie Suckers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I have made these several times. They are perfect and so much fun. Just sweet enough and you can change colors for holidays. Red and green for Christmas. Orange, black, purple and green for Halloween. Silver and blue for Hanukkah. You get the idea. Love these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peglaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, New York, USA
Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
The color and idea is great, but the recipe leaves something to be desired. Cookies have a heavy, bland taste and seem to just sit in your stomach. Next time I'll try the same idea with my normal sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Very cute but very time-consuming. I used the idea of "gluing" sticks in cookies with egg whites on the last 1/2 after having problems with sticks falling out. Wish I had read further to see one person's suggestion of adding coarse sugar on top. The cookies taste all right but are not terribly sweet. (This coming from someone who's not big on sweets.) You can definitely use regular food coloring as the paste version is not easy to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I made these for my son's bake sale and they are delicious. However, I had difficulty moulding the dough because it kept melting in my hands. Not sure if it was the temperature of my hands or home. But I could only manage to shape them into balls even after refridgerating them for another hour and cooling my home and my hands down. Nonetheless, they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huyen Nguyen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
fun and easy to make, but a bit plain when it came to flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea123

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alaska Chick
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
First of all, if you are looking for the best sugar cookie ever, look elsewhere. These cookies definitely score more points as a novelty item. However, they're still tasty. So, when you combine a decent taste with a fun, whimsical idea that has multiple options for presentation, these are fabulous! Next, these are time consuming! Definitely not something you want to make a couple of hours before the bake sale begins. I like to make the dough ahead of time, get help to tint the dough (especially if you want bright colors, it will take a good chunk of time to mix all the color in to the four different sections of dough), and then make all the balls before I refrigerate the dough. Then I chill it all overnight and make the cookies the next day. If you want to save even more time, you could divide the two just into two and make cookies with only two colors. Third, I never found anything called "paste food coloring." One time I made them, I used my Wilton Icing colors...worked fine but are harder to mix especially because they don't have a squeeze tube. What I use now is Betty Crocker Gel Food Coloring. Works great! Fourth, I, like many other reviewers prefer a little more sugar...1/4-1/3 C. I also like a little more vanilla so I add about a 1/4 t more of that. Lastly, a tip for making cookies look like big "whirly pops" when you make one large ball out of the four balls, do NOT mix them up too much. Then, while you coil the dough, twist it as you go. Have fun with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Cute idea, but a pain in the butt to make! Also, the sticks weren't staying in the cookie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Very cute. Took the advice of another reviewer and dipped the sticks in egg whites. Also sprinkled course sugar before baking and the cookies look great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Very cute. I made these for my niece and my boyfriends nieces. I think this would be a great project to do with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These are wonderful for Kids!! I give them 5 stars because kids love them, the flavor is good, they are not the best cookie I have ever had but that is not really the point. I mixed everything in one bowl to save the mess and I thought they really assembled pretty quickly. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make a Cookie Bouquet

Say it with flowers--edible cookie flowers you make yourself!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States