Fugi Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
My family loves this salad, I was given this recipe from a lady at my church except she uses broccoli slaw instead of cabbage. Its wonderful either way!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynoka, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Try crushing the ramen noodles and toasting them with the nuts (alternately I use sunflower seeds, peanuts or almonds - whatever I have on hand). I also find honey and rice vinegar with sesame oil with a reduced amount of oil make a better dressing. (I use light olive oil instead, just my preference). Baby bok choy is also a good addition, if you want to mix up the veggie content a bit. This recipe lends itself to all sorts of additions, you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This recipe is very similary to "Crab Coleslaw Medley" also from this website. It has less sugar and less oil, which makes it lower in calories. The Crab in the recipe lends protein, so it can be a complete healthy meal. Great flavor and texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Too much sugar, but otherwise a great salad. I've been making this for several years, but with alot less sugar. Taste before pouring on the salad. Many have complained about having to toast the sesame seeds and almonds. Buy ones that are already toasted. Toasted ones can be found in your Asian section of your supermarket. Toasted almonds can be found with your regular nuts usually with your baking supplies (cake mixes, flours, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I've had a recipe very similar to this for several years, and everyone loves it. I usually throw in a can of mandarin oranges and use a small amount of the orange juice in the dressing. I also use sunflower seeds in place of the sesame seeds, which I don't care for all that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I made this salad for our office Thanksgiving party and it was really well received. Like another reviewer suggested, I used broccoli slaw instead of cabbage. I personally think it has a much more enjoyable flavor that way. I also only used one package of ramen noodles. The best part of the salad is the wonderful flavor that the toasted sesame seeds add. This is a great recipe with a complex and refreshing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Great recipe. I made a few minor changes. I substituted sunflower kernels for the sesame seeds and I omitted the butter when toasting them. Not necessary and it saves fat and calories. I've used coleslaw and broccoli slaw. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danalicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
A wonderful salad. We use the pack of flavoring from the ramen noodles instead of adding salt, pepper, spices. It adds another layer of flavor to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This is a great salad I make all the time. I take it to work for lunch also. I keep the cabbage in a zip lock bag and keep the almond/ramen/seseame seed mixture in a separate zip lock. I have the dressing in a squeeze container and mix everything together when I'm ready to eat it. Works real well and is always crunchy ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANOL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Thank you! Thank you! I had this salad at a church pot luck and loved it but didn't get the recipe. I did try to make it a little healthier, for my husband, a kidney patient) The first time I tried it, I could only find Chinkiang Vinegar (a dark,seasoned rice vinegar that's kind of salty) The taste was awesome but too salty for my husband's low salt diet. The second time, I used Sushi vinegar (also seasoned) and was happier with the results for health reasons, though I, myself still prefered the taste of the Chinkiang vinegar. I also took a previuos reviewer's suggestion to use Splenda,for a lower carbohydrate value. (Better for diabetics and kidney patients). Great tasting, either way! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serving with Gladness!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States