Fudgy Cream Cheese Tunnel Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
To avoid the "hole in the center" when the cream cheese tunnel doesn't hold up to slicing, add an egg and 1/2 cup of flour and 1/2 tsp. baking powder to the cream cheese mixture. Yummy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
This was delicious. I actually made two cakes: one as listed here and the second I used white chocolate chips. Everyone preferred the white chocolate center. Also, on the second cake I sprinkled the pecans on top instead of in it (in case someone doesn't like nuts), increased the cream used in the cream cheese mixture by 2 tablespoons, and made a white chocolate glaze to compliment the chocolate glaze. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
My coworkers and my husband loved this! I'm not usually a chocolate lover, but it tastes like a chocolate cake with cheesecake in the middle. Yum! I did add an egg to the cream cheese mixture before baking and it turned out perfectly. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This cake was fabulous! We poured a raspberry coulis over each piece before serving. Delicious! I made this cake in a bundt pan, and it seemed like there was almost too much filling. Next time I may cut the filling in half. ---- Just made this for the second time, and used white chocolate chips for the filling and only 1 1/2 packages of cream cheese. Worked great. The whole cake dissapeared very quickly. I suggest to serve this cake cold. OH, I also omited the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MitziD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
This cake is to die for! I didn't make the glaze; instead I melted some semisweet, milk and white chocolate chips (separately) and drizzled them alternatively over the cake. I then put shavings of white and milk chocolate on top. What a presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canoga Park, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I think this cake was wonderful!! I will make this cake for the hoilday season. for a helpful tip add one egg to the cream cheese mix it will mak it stay very well put togther!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Crewe, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
YUMmy!!! This cake is so good. I served it at a cinco de Mayo party we had lastnight and everyone loved it. I did not serve it cold but would recomend doing so, It's even better today cold, I can't get enough of this delicous, scrumptious cake and so easy to make. I made it without nuts and substituted the coffee for choclate milk and put melted whhite choclate and dark cholclate chips, beautiful and tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I brought this for a co-workers birthday today and everyone is raving about. I personally think the cake part is dry so will try cooking for a little less time next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPLSVERONIKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Le Mars, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This was a great cake for my husbands Birthday, I used a dark chocolate cake mix....I added an egg to the cream cheese mixture.....For the ganache I added 1 tablespoon of corn syryp and 2 tablespoons of butter so it became nice and shiney! I will use this cake recipe over and over and next time I think I will make a cherry cream cheese filling. I figure this recipe can be changed in many ways with different fillings and different flavors cake mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
This was great! I made this twice and liked it better when I used a milk chocolate mix w/pudding than when I used devils food. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States