Fudgy Cream Cheese Tunnel Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Very good. I used water instead of coffee, and just one cream cheese. I will follow the advice to add one egg to cream cheese because it did not hold up to slicing. When I took the cake out of bundt it caved in. I put it back in pan, and took out again next morning. The cake was in pretty good shape. I only baked for 55 minutes, but will make sure it is VERY cool next time before taking out. I am looking forward to trying with the white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
everybody seemed to like it and the filling was good but the cake part was a little dry for me. i'm not sure if it's the long baking time or if it needs more liquid/oil. i don't think i'll be making this again. but the icing was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Forgiving recipe. I can never follow a recipe without tweaking and this time, I also forgot several things. Then I totally left out the frosting but that is because I share our baking with the future in-laws and we try to keep sugar down. So the things I did different ... cream cheese layer; used only 8 oz cream cheese, 1 egg and 1/3 + 1/6 cup sugar, forgot the heavy cream and left out the choc chips. Cake layer; used only 1/4 cup vegetable oil and forgot the nuts. Got two 8inch (baked 55 mins) and one 4inch (baked 30 mins) loaves. Boyfriend and son ate one larger loaf between them in 15 mins. Rated only 3 because of the many changes. Will return when I follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
To avoid the "hole in the center" when the cream cheese tunnel doesn't hold up to slicing, add an egg and 1/2 cup of flour and 1/2 tsp. baking powder to the cream cheese mixture. Yummy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
We LOVED this recipe. I did make a few changes though. 1st, I used the "Sunday Best Chocolate Cake" recipe on this site, instead of the cake mix. I'm not a big cake mix fan. I halfed the cream cheese mixture, because I olnly had 1 pkg of cream cheese. It turned out great still though. It actually may have been too cream cheesy had I used the amount called for. All in all, a wonderful recipe that my boyfriend called "Awesom!" This will be added to our list of faves for sure! Thanks for sharing this one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Very interesting cake! I think next time I will use 2 boxes of cake mix though (double the cake recipe) because it was a bit much fudge for the cake. It was a yummy cake though, I will totally make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
It was so good. I have made it twice and my family and friends just love it. It is better served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Delicious! The only change I made was to substitute water for the coffee. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
This has become "my" chocolate cake recipe. I made it for a potluck at my husbands work, and the plate came back empty with all the glaze scraped off. The only changes I made were I substituted water for the coffee (I don't like the coffee flavor) and I added a white chocolate glaze on top of the other for appearance. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Fabulous! I couldn't get enough! I could eat the cream chease filling all by itself! Wondrful dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States