Fudgy Cream Cheese Tunnel Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Very easy to make and a huge hit! I had a white cake mix, so I added 1/4 c. cocoa to the cake mix. I made the following adjustments based on other reviews: I used white chocolate chips with the cream cheese mixture and added an egg as well as 1/4 c flour. I also let it cool 1 1/2 hours in the pan before inverting, and had no problems with the cake collapsing. Instead of the glaze, I melted white chocolate chips, dark chocolate chips, and milk chocolate chips and drizzled on top. Next time, I will cut back on the cream cheese to 1 8oz and 1 3 oz package as I had extra this time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I made this yesterday for a friend's birthday party. I was really nervous because i usually screw up baked goods. But I just followed the recipe - the only thing I changed out of necessity was to use skim milk instead of heavy cream, and i didn't have any pecans, but this was delicious and I'm sure it would have been better with them. :P So many people commented on how good the cake was - thank you very much for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Emily
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I really like this but without the topping! It makes it too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homemade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wharton, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I only baked the cake for 40 minutes and the cake part is very, very dry. Had I baked for the full recommended time, the cake would have been no good at all. Maybe it's just me, but something about this recipe is off. I did however take the advice of others here and added an egg to the cream cheese mixture, that turned out great! But I don't think I will bother to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Delicious - dinner party hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Followed the recipe as others suggested by adding an egg to the tunnel mix. Cake was perfect and it was a surprise for my dads birthday. HUGE SUCCESS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SarahMc
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
We baked this cake too long because the toothpick test does simply not work on this cake - probably because of the cream cheese tunnel. The cake part was a little on the dry side so I think we will try it again and not bake it as long. It was still excellent with ice cream, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This cake just didn't work for me. It should be baked in a tubepan so the cream cheese sinks to the middle and not on the bottom in a bundt pan when you invert it. The cake was quite dry and not a lot of flavor. It wasn't as WOW as I had hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
The cake was DELICIOUS! I would recommend only making it for parties or if you have company over. I made it one day just because I was craving some chocolate cake. It was SO rich and delicious but I couldn't eat it all! I ended up throwing half of it away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Awesome recipe! This was the first time I really ever made a cake and it was wonderful. I followed the advice from everyone and added an egg and flour to the cream cheese mixture and my cake didn't collapse! I'm cooking at high elevations, so I also added flour to the cake mix as well. Better cold than hot:) Definitely worth your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States