Fudgy Chocolate Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is very easy to make. It's VERY rich and fudgy. It definitely needs to be served chilled, with whipped cream, or the richness will overwhelm the palate. Anyone who found the filling of this was too runny must have done something wrong. I made it exactly as directed and it was so thick it was setting before I even got it into the pie crust. This is not like a typical pudding pie. The filling is much more dense, and the flavor and texture are similar to fudge (hence the name). If you're looking for a lighter chocolate cream pie like you get from pudding, this is the wrong recipe. I probably won't make this again, because it is too sweet for me, but it delivers on its promise. It is what it says it is in the description: fudgy and rich tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Not enough of anything to fill a small shallow pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Just made this pie because it sounded good. It turned out better than I could have imagined. I have made similar pies before with poor results, but not with this. Did not follow the recipe exactly as I used the suggestions of other reviewers and used evaporated milk for a richer taste and texture and used 2 cups of it rather than 1 1/2 cups. Also added an extra tablespoon of cornstarch. However, I did not have the problem of it not being thick enough, in fact mine was so thick I could hardly whisk it before it ever came to a hard boil, so I went on and removed it from the heat, stirred in the chocolate and vanilla and poured it into the pie shell. There was plenty of filling for a deep dish 9 inch pie and it set up beautifully. I will be preparing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
used this recipe because mine are all packed away and this was the closest to my mothers recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Yummy... VERY rich and creamy! Not your average chocolate cream pie. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Just finished trying this wonderful recipe!! Rave reviews with family since this was a trial run for Thanksgiving Day desserts. Not to sweet and not too bitter, it is absolutely wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Armona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe! It tasted very professional and this was the first pie I ever made and it was surprisingly very easy. I did add a little bit more milk and corn starch like some of the commenters suggested and it thickened a bit more. I used a store bought graham cracker crust and topped with cool whip. Going to make this for the family at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Excellent-everyone from Grandpa to my teenagers and my picky husband loved it. I did as many suggested and used 2 cups milk and 4 tbls cornstarch and it set very well. I also used the Sweetened Whipped Cream recipe from here for the topping-also excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
With a few changes this really delicious chocolate cream pie becomes out of this world wonderful. Like other reviewers, added an extra 1/2 cup milk and 1 tablespoon cornstarch. I also didn't have unsweetened chocolate so instead I used bittersweet chocolate chips and I doubled the amount of chocolate to 1/2 cup. I also added 1 Tbs cocoa powder to balance out the sweetness (and I just really like chocolate :) Also, at the same time I added the chocolate I added 1/4 cup peanut butter. Its enough to add just a hint of the peanut butter taste while bringing out the chocolate flavor and bringing all of the ingredients together. One last thing: I used a graham cracker crust instead of a pie crust. This just made it all that much better. And you don't have to worry about soggy pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars, because I can just IMAGINE how awesome this will be NEXT time I make this recipe! I too added 2 extra teaspoons of cornstarch and and extra 1/2 cup of milk. The pudding was really enough to fill a 9" pie. I did pile high whipped topping, but the pie did need more pudding. Next time I am going to double the pudding mixture and use a deep dish pie pan. Any extra pudding, I'll put into pudding cups or icecream cones. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States