Fudgy Chocolate Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe! It tasted very professional and this was the first pie I ever made and it was surprisingly very easy. I did add a little bit more milk and corn starch like some of the commenters suggested and it thickened a bit more. I used a store bought graham cracker crust and topped with cool whip. Going to make this for the family at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Excellent-everyone from Grandpa to my teenagers and my picky husband loved it. I did as many suggested and used 2 cups milk and 4 tbls cornstarch and it set very well. I also used the Sweetened Whipped Cream recipe from here for the topping-also excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
With a few changes this really delicious chocolate cream pie becomes out of this world wonderful. Like other reviewers, added an extra 1/2 cup milk and 1 tablespoon cornstarch. I also didn't have unsweetened chocolate so instead I used bittersweet chocolate chips and I doubled the amount of chocolate to 1/2 cup. I also added 1 Tbs cocoa powder to balance out the sweetness (and I just really like chocolate :) Also, at the same time I added the chocolate I added 1/4 cup peanut butter. Its enough to add just a hint of the peanut butter taste while bringing out the chocolate flavor and bringing all of the ingredients together. One last thing: I used a graham cracker crust instead of a pie crust. This just made it all that much better. And you don't have to worry about soggy pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars, because I can just IMAGINE how awesome this will be NEXT time I make this recipe! I too added 2 extra teaspoons of cornstarch and and extra 1/2 cup of milk. The pudding was really enough to fill a 9" pie. I did pile high whipped topping, but the pie did need more pudding. Next time I am going to double the pudding mixture and use a deep dish pie pan. Any extra pudding, I'll put into pudding cups or icecream cones. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Thanks for a great recipe. I made it according to directions, I was a little worried that it might not set up, it didn`t get real thick in the sauce pan. I took a chance on it and was happy with the results and complimements I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I rarely find any recipe of this type rich and fudgey enough, but this one very much is! Like many other reviewers, I doubled the cornstarch and used 2c. of milk, and looove the resulting pudding/pie filling. The filling recipe is also a fantastic base recipe, and I've successfully altered it to incorporate peanutbutter, beer, and many other things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
fudgy and delicious!! it makes a perfect dessert in a holiday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Exactly what I was looking for in a chocolate cream pie. I did follow the advice of others and added 2 tsp. cornstarch and 1/2 c. milk. Consistency was great. For the crust, I used "Pie Crust IV" on allrecipes, and it was a great compliment. I made a whipped topping from 3/4 cup whipping cream and 1 Tbs sugar (I whipped slightly beyond normal whipped cream "stiff peaks" so that it was more sturdy and longer lasting in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Made this for my book club last night. (We reviewed the book "The Help" and if you've read that book you know the significance of chocolate pie!) Anyway, everyone loved the pie and wanted the recipe. It was very rich and indeed fudgy. It was easy to make and set up very well. Remember to add all the ingredients except for chocolate, butter and vanilla BEFORE heating. For some reason people think it needs to be heated before adding the eggs. Mix all together and then heat. It will turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
A really easy, but delicious chocolate pie. The consistency is delicious and my family was overwhelmed that they were having homemade pie for dessert! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States