Fudgy Chocolate Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I made this with 2 cups of milk and 3 tablespoons of cornstarch and it filled my 9.5 inch pie crust perfectly. I made it for mothers day for the family and everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natermoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Not bad but my mum's recipe is better! :P Also--what in the heck--there is no explanation on how to make the meringue topping! I had to search on Allrecipes for one that explained that because I've never made a meringue pie topping before, just regular meringues! So if you got stuck like I did search on allrecipes for "Chocolate Meringue Pie" and read the instructions in the second half of the recipe about how to make the topping. Also be verrry careful when you are stirring the chocolate pie filling on high heat. I hate how recipes like these say "boil" because even though it may be at boiling temperatures, it's not water, and you won't see the bubbling on the surface. The mixture will be burning on the bottom if you do see bubbles somehow, so make sure to watch it carefully. As soon as it starts to feel "thick" and resists you stirring it, immediately turn down the heat or turn it off completely. The residual heat may be enough to finish cooking it, especially if you've added sufficient cornstarch. Also if you don't have semi sweet chocolate, you can make your own homemade by using 1 tablespoon of butter + 3 tablespoons cocoa powder for each 1 oz of semi sweet chocolate. Melt the butter first in a measuring cup then mix in the cocoa powder, then add this combo to the egg and sugar mixture on the stove. Work quickly or it will burn! My first try had a few little lumps in it, probably from too high heat. Good luck in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katelovesbaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
My late Mother-In-Law forgot to leave me this exact recipe for her lifelong famous chocolate pie. I have been trying to duplicate it for years and this is IT!!!! My husband thanks you from the bottom of his fully belly!!!!!!!!! I did add the extra milk and extra corn starch. I love a full pie and I put a meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
We enjoyed this pie very much. I have had better though. I followed the recipe exactly and served with whipped cream and chocolate crunchies on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by Margaret's Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is my new Chocolate Cream Pie recipe. I Made this pie today using Ghirardelli chocolate. Wow! It was so good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great! Followed other's recommendations and used 2 T + 2 t cornstarch and 2 cups of milk and it turned out great. Made it in a mint cookie crust with mint whipped cream- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I made this twice since I had two crusts. Once with sugar as listed and next with 1 cup of sugar....we enjoyed it better with sugar reduced. I had too much trouble with the meringue so we ate it with nothing on top and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I was thrilled to make this pie for my husband whose favorite pie is Chocolate Cream. I do not like Chocolate Cream Pie so this would not be tempting. Well let me tell you. This pie is AMAZINGLY wonderful. It is now my favorite all time pie. I will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Wright

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This pie is SO easy to make and truly a crowd pleaser! I was worried about it setting since I used soy milk but it came out fine and perfectly fudgy! I made the butter flaky pie crust from this site as well and topped it with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
So easy it amazed me!! Hummmm, ummm, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States