Fudgy Chocolate Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This pie was very rich and very tasty! I used Mom's Pie Crust from allrecipes (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/moms-pie-crust/detail.aspx) and it worked perfectly. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that I had to stand over a hot stove for half an hour in the summer so the filling would thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I make a whipped cream for the topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Love this recipe! Taste is outstanding, and it couldn't be easier to throw together. I did as suggested previously and doubled the cornstarch and added an extra 1/2 cup milk so my pie would be fuller, and it set up and turned out great! Thank you so much for this recipe. The pudding part alone, I am thinking of using for other purposes......LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This was my first cream pie! Everyone approved. It wasn't too sweet for me at all, and I would definitely make it again. I only made a few changes. I replaced the unsweetened chocolate with 3 tbsp of cocoa powder and 1 tbsp of butter. Melt the butter and then mix in the cocoa powder to avoid lumps. I made a meringue topping by whisking 3 egg whites until foamy, then adding 6 tbsp of sugar. I continued beating until stiff peaks formed and then added 1/2 tsp vanilla. Lastly, I baked at 325 degrees for 15 minutes. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Yum! Made it once following the recipe and once with our own substitutions. A graham cracker crust and marshmallow fluff topping make it s'more pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I made this with 2 cups of milk and 3 tablespoons of cornstarch and it filled my 9.5 inch pie crust perfectly. I made it for mothers day for the family and everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natermoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Not bad but my mum's recipe is better! :P Also--what in the heck--there is no explanation on how to make the meringue topping! I had to search on Allrecipes for one that explained that because I've never made a meringue pie topping before, just regular meringues! So if you got stuck like I did search on allrecipes for "Chocolate Meringue Pie" and read the instructions in the second half of the recipe about how to make the topping. Also be verrry careful when you are stirring the chocolate pie filling on high heat. I hate how recipes like these say "boil" because even though it may be at boiling temperatures, it's not water, and you won't see the bubbling on the surface. The mixture will be burning on the bottom if you do see bubbles somehow, so make sure to watch it carefully. As soon as it starts to feel "thick" and resists you stirring it, immediately turn down the heat or turn it off completely. The residual heat may be enough to finish cooking it, especially if you've added sufficient cornstarch. Also if you don't have semi sweet chocolate, you can make your own homemade by using 1 tablespoon of butter + 3 tablespoons cocoa powder for each 1 oz of semi sweet chocolate. Melt the butter first in a measuring cup then mix in the cocoa powder, then add this combo to the egg and sugar mixture on the stove. Work quickly or it will burn! My first try had a few little lumps in it, probably from too high heat. Good luck in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katelovesbaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
My late Mother-In-Law forgot to leave me this exact recipe for her lifelong famous chocolate pie. I have been trying to duplicate it for years and this is IT!!!! My husband thanks you from the bottom of his fully belly!!!!!!!!! I did add the extra milk and extra corn starch. I love a full pie and I put a meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
We enjoyed this pie very much. I have had better though. I followed the recipe exactly and served with whipped cream and chocolate crunchies on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by Margaret's Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is my new Chocolate Cream Pie recipe. I Made this pie today using Ghirardelli chocolate. Wow! It was so good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States