Fudgy Chocolate Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Very good pie. We ate it with canned whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
After reading the reviews, I decided to make the changes several people had mentioned. I added the x-tra 2 tsp of cornstarch and increased the milk by 1/2 cup. I topped it off with some homemade whipped cream and some shaved chocolate. It was amazing! and its very easy to make, the only thing is that you have to CONSTANTLY! keep stirring! I walked away from the stove for a minute and my chocolate filling almost burned. It takes about 13-15min for the pie filling to get thick. I timed it! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CVD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I have made this pie for several years and it is the first request from the family for the holidays. I have had no trouble with following the recipe as written and it turns out wonderful every time, even living at 8,000 feet. My grandmother used to make a chocolate pie from scratch and this rivals hers. My father even says so and he is a die hard chocolate pie lover. My family likes for me to make homemade whipped topping from heavy cream. It goes very nicely with this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JT/STEF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitou Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Buena Vista, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Good pie, but set more like pudding for me. Tastes like milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Great recipe! I also took the advice of others and added 2 tsp more of cornstarch and an additional 1/2 cup of milk. I didn't have the chocolate squares so I used 3 tbs of cocoa and it turn out great. I used the egg whites for meringue to top the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I loved this recipe. I made this once just as the directions stated (very good) and then with the extra 2 TBSP of corn starch and 1/2 cup milk... I then added one extra piece of chocolate. (YUM) I am making the third and fourth today at my husbands request. I think this recipe was just added to family holiday staples!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving 2013 and I loved this recipe for fudgy chocolate pie! that is exactly what it is fudgy and good! this recipe will fill a regular 9 inch pie crust but, if you want it a little more full, which I did, then take the advice of other reviewers and add a 1/2 a cup more of milk and 2 extra tablespoons of cornstarch that's what I did and it fills pie crust better if you want to fill a deep dish pie then double the recipe. I added the chocolate at the beginning to let it melt while filling was cooking and I had some scary moments, first I was stirring this filling with a spoon and the chocolate was not incorporating into the rest of the mixture it was melting but it was a mottled mess, thought it was ruined, at least it was visually, it looked bad!! so I got out my whisk and whisked it quickly as the mixture was thickening and when I did that everything smoothed out and blended just fine, I would not use a spoon, use a wire whisk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Fabulous! I don't like Chocolate Cream Pie, but I love this one. We followed other reviewers suggestions and added 1/2 cup milk and 2 tsp cornstarch. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
My first time ever making a chocolate cream pie. I don't think I have ever even eaten one before. My thirteen year old daughter kept begging me to make one, so after searching through a billion recipes we decided on this one. Boy are we glad we did. She loves it. No changes at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States