Fudgy Chocolate Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Thanks for a great recipe. I made it according to directions, I was a little worried that it might not set up, it didn`t get real thick in the sauce pan. I took a chance on it and was happy with the results and complimements I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I rarely find any recipe of this type rich and fudgey enough, but this one very much is! Like many other reviewers, I doubled the cornstarch and used 2c. of milk, and looove the resulting pudding/pie filling. The filling recipe is also a fantastic base recipe, and I've successfully altered it to incorporate peanutbutter, beer, and many other things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
fudgy and delicious!! it makes a perfect dessert in a holiday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Exactly what I was looking for in a chocolate cream pie. I did follow the advice of others and added 2 tsp. cornstarch and 1/2 c. milk. Consistency was great. For the crust, I used "Pie Crust IV" on allrecipes, and it was a great compliment. I made a whipped topping from 3/4 cup whipping cream and 1 Tbs sugar (I whipped slightly beyond normal whipped cream "stiff peaks" so that it was more sturdy and longer lasting in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Made this for my book club last night. (We reviewed the book "The Help" and if you've read that book you know the significance of chocolate pie!) Anyway, everyone loved the pie and wanted the recipe. It was very rich and indeed fudgy. It was easy to make and set up very well. Remember to add all the ingredients except for chocolate, butter and vanilla BEFORE heating. For some reason people think it needs to be heated before adding the eggs. Mix all together and then heat. It will turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
A really easy, but delicious chocolate pie. The consistency is delicious and my family was overwhelmed that they were having homemade pie for dessert! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHERYLBH
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Lives up to it's name... this is a thick, rich, chocolate "fudgy" pie. Absolutely delicious! only variations I made was using half & half in place of reg. milk (makes for a smoother, richer pie)... & also combined the flour & cornstarch together in a cup, added just enough water to make a thin paste, then added this to the liquid mixture of milk/eggs. This eliminated any lumps. I used the Basic Flaky Pie Crust recipe off of this site & it balanced out the sweetness of the filling really well. I chose not to use a topping, but may try one in the future. I think whipped cream would be my preference, as this is a cold pie & just seems to "fit" better. Be forewarned: this is a thick, rich pie... but in my opinion, with the homemade pie crust, it wasn't too sweet... and oh, so good when you're craving something chocolatey! This is definitely a keeper! Edited to add: this is my "go to" recipe now for chocolate pie! I've made it dozens of times & have found that we like it best with a regular egg white meringue topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
made this exactly as the directions required but added 1/2 oz extra of unsweetened chocolate. this is now my only recipe for chocolate cream pie. rich, creamy, held up well and 4 people finished off this pie in one sitting. wonderful. fudgey and just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I pored the filling over a peanut butter cookie crust (I don;t like regular pie crust). Everyone raved about it! Nice and chocolaty. I cooked it in the microwave, removing it every 30 sec to stir until it was thick and bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This pie is RICH. And wasn't a hit in this house. I tossed some of it it. THAT says a lot :/ The flavor is decadent and the pie is dense. It sure lives up to it's name. Next time I'm going to opt for a fluffier, creamier recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States