Fudgy Chocolate Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This was honestly the best chocolate pie I have ever had--and I had the pleasure of making it. I too, would recommend the extra tsp of cornstarch and 1/2 cup of milk, because it ended up working out very well. Also, don't be worried if the mixture begins to clump up, when boiled. It is perfectly normal, just make sure you try to squash the larger ones. Thats really all I would recommend you doing apart from the general directions. I really loved this pie. Me and my sister secretly licked the entire pan clean after we poured it into the pie shell. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is an excellent pie, with a very easy recipe to follow. I have made this for many family members and they simply rave over how delicious it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Followed exactly and it turned out perfect. Topped with regular cool whip but real whipped cream would be insanely good. Dangerous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this exactly according to the directions and it turned out perfectly. Although increasing the ingredients like others have suggested wouldn't hurt I'm sure. This pie is very rich and chocolatey! Would go perfectly with a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I must have done something wrong as no one at the family Christmas Dinner (21 of us) cared for this. Some said no flavor to very light/mild flavor. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Perfectly easy and delicious! I took the advice of other reviewers and increased the milk to two cups and added to additional tablespoons of cornstarch. What a chocolate flavor! I topped my pie with meringue because I didn't have whipping cream or whipped topping in the house. This is going in my permanent recipe file.We recently had a group of men from our church over for lunch. As they were eating this pie, I heard things like " the texture is absolutely perfect", " so creamy", certainly not the usual man talk! This is my permanent go to chocolate pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Very good pie. We ate it with canned whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
After reading the reviews, I decided to make the changes several people had mentioned. I added the x-tra 2 tsp of cornstarch and increased the milk by 1/2 cup. I topped it off with some homemade whipped cream and some shaved chocolate. It was amazing! and its very easy to make, the only thing is that you have to CONSTANTLY! keep stirring! I walked away from the stove for a minute and my chocolate filling almost burned. It takes about 13-15min for the pie filling to get thick. I timed it! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CVD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I have made this pie for several years and it is the first request from the family for the holidays. I have had no trouble with following the recipe as written and it turns out wonderful every time, even living at 8,000 feet. My grandmother used to make a chocolate pie from scratch and this rivals hers. My father even says so and he is a die hard chocolate pie lover. My family likes for me to make homemade whipped topping from heavy cream. It goes very nicely with this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JT/STEF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitou Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Buena Vista, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Good pie, but set more like pudding for me. Tastes like milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States